Ultrasonic testing systems and ultrasonic test methods

"One stop shop" for ultrasound – sensors, electronics, software, simulation, test methods

As an OEM supplier and specialist for non-destructive testing systems, Fraunhofer IKTS provides customer-specific ultrasonic testing (UT) systems, components and algorithms, validates ultrasonic testing (UT) systems and methods, and offers attractive license-based business models, besides test services.

Our offers start with scientific consultations regarding basic questions of NDT with simulation-based feasibility and optimization studies. We provide UT hardware and UT sensors, including sensors, developed for specific object geometries, materials and applications, as well as an appropriate software development and up to complete testing systems. As a ceramic institute, Fraunhofer IKTS is your partner for all issues regarding ultrasound: from the piezoelectric ceramics to the certified industrial UT system.

Fraunhofer IKTS combines in its PCUS® pro series modular and high-performance ultrasonic electronics with modular and adaptable software to effective top-level electronics for ultrasonic testing (compliant with DIN EN 12668).

In order to solve specific tasks, Fraunhofer IKTS has gathered expert knowledge in ultrasonic testing over many years. With individual evaluation algorithms, complex structures can be analyzed. Fraunhofer IKTS disposes of an accredited in-house test lab, flexibly certified according to DIN EN ISO/IEC 17025 by Deutsche Akkreditierungsstelle (DAkkS) in UT, among others. This also enables to validate customer-specifically developed UT applications and methods. Hence, Fraunhofer IKTS is the first choice regarding the realization and guidance of complete R&D projects.

Topics

 

Simulation-based optimization

In the field of ultrasound, Fraunhofer IKTS models and simulates various physical-technical problems of non-destructive testing and materials characterization with numerical methods.

 

Ultrasonic transducers

Fraunhofer IKTS is developing sensors for new materials, delivers customized phased arrays probes and single element probes for 3D component testing as well as ultrasonic transducers for materials characterization with ultrasonic microscopy and spectroscopy.

 

Ultrasonic testing systems

Fraunhofer IKTS offers application specific solutions for ultrasonic testing that are equipped with modular, high-performance electronics as well as a modular and customizable software.

 

Ultrasonic testing methods

Defects in components or joints can be detected with ultrasound. Moreover, certain properties of materials and coatings can be acoustically characterized. Scanning Acoustic Microscopy (SAM) enables resolutions of a few micrometers.

 

Specialized ultrasonic testing methods

By the use of innovative solutions, Fraunhofer IKTS acquires information where classic ultrasonic test methods fail. This is accomplished by an optimal excitation and detection of ultrasonic waves in combination with specialized signal processing technologies.

Ultraschall-Prüfsysteme und -prüfverfahren

»One-Stop-Shop« für Ultraschall – Sensoren, Elektronik, Software, Simulation, Prüfverfahren

Als OEM-Lieferant und Spezialist für zerstörungsfreie Prüfverfahren (ZfP) liefert das Fraunhofer IKTS kundenspezifische Ultraschall-Prüfsysteme, Komponenten und Algorithmen, validiert Ultraschall-Prüfsysteme und Ultraschallverfahren und bietet neben Prüfdienstleistungen auch attraktive lizenzbasierte Geschäftsmodelle an.

Dies beginnt bei der wissenschaftlichen Beratung zu grundlegenden Fragen der ZfP mit simulationsgestützten Machbarkeitsstudien und Optimierungsstudien, erstreckt sich weiter über eigens entwickelte Sensoren, die auf Geometrien, Materialien und an weitere Parameter angepasst werden können, sowie die passende Software-Entwicklung für Spezialanwendungen bis hin zu kompletten Prüfsystemen. Als Keramikinstitut steht das Fraunhofer IKTS  für alle Fragen zum Thema Ultraschall zur Verfügung – von der piezoelektrischen Keramik bis zum zertifizierten industriellen Ultraschall-Prüfsystem.

Das Fraunhofer IKTS bündelt in der PCUS® pro-Gerätereihe eine modulare und sehr leistungsfähige Ultraschall-Elektronik mit einer modularen und anpassbaren Software zu einer effektiven Spitzenelektronik für die Ultraschallprüfung (DIN EN 12668-konform).

Für besondere Prüfaufgaben steht dem Fraunhofer IKTS ein jahrelang gewachsenes Know-how im Bereich der Ultraschallprüfung zur Verfügung. Mit individuellen Auswertealgorithmen werden komplexe Strukturen untersucht. Im hauseigenen akkreditierten Prüfzentrum, das nach DIN EN ISO/IEC 17025 durch die Deutsche Akkreditierungsstelle (DAkkS) unter anderem im Bereich der Ultraschallprüfung flexibel akkreditiert ist, kann das Fraunhofer IKTS kundenspezifisch entwickelte akustische Applikationen und Verfahren validieren. Das Fraunhofer IKTS ist damit auch die erste Wahl bei der Umsetzung und Begleitung kompletter FuE-Projekte.

Themen

 

Simulationsgestützte Optimierung

Mit numerischen Methoden simuliert und modelliert das Fraunhofer IKTS im Bereich Ultraschall verschiedene physikalisch-technische Probleme der zerstörungsfreien Prüfung und Materialcharakterisierung.

 

Ultraschall-Sensorik

Das Fraunhofer IKTS entwickelt Spezialsensoren für neue Materialien, liefert maßgeschneiderte Phased-Array- und Einschwinger-Prüfköpfe für die 3D-Bauteilprüfung sowie Ultraschallsensoren für die Materialcharakterisierung mittels Ultraschallmikroskopie und -spektroskopie.

 

Ultraschall-Prüfsysteme

Das Fraunhofer IKTS bietet applikationsspezifische Lösungen für die Ultraschallprüfung an, die mit modularer und sehr leistungsfähiger Spitzenelektronik sowie einer ebenso modularen und anpassbaren Software bestückt sind.

 

Ultraschallprüfverfahren

Fehler in Bauteilen oder Fügeverbindungen lassen sich mit Ultraschall detektieren. Zudem können bestimmte Eigenschaften von Materialien und Beschichtungen akustisch charakterisiert werden. Die Ultraschall-Mikroskopie ermöglicht dabei Auflösungen von wenigen Mikrometern.

 

Ultraschall-Sonderprüfverfahren

Mit innovativen Lösungen gewinnt das Fraunhofer IKTS Informationen, wo viele klassische Ultraschallprüfverfahren an Grenzen stoßen. Dies geschieht durch optimierte Anregung und Detektion der Ultraschallwellen in Kombination mit spezialisierten Signalverarbeitungsmethoden.