Water and waste water technology

Water is indispensable as a foodstuff as well as for agricultural and industrial production. It is therefore paramount to use this important resource with care. In this context, more and more production companies all over the world are faced with the challenge of achieving so-called »zero liquid discharge« by introducing closed production cycles.

As a consequence, the processing industry is in need of safe and fully multifunctional components for water treatment. These components must be light-weight and versatile and allow integration into the companies' existing supply infrastructures (retrofit systems), as well as into modern manufacturing concepts (industry 4.0). Furthermore, not only should they do without chemicals as operating materials; they should also be able to recover valuable constituents, concentrate any contaminants occurring in the process and break them down without residues.

While industrial processes are characterized by high salt loads and persistent organic residual materials from production and cleaning processes, which stands in the way of any effective closed-loop circulation, urban waste water treatment is more concerned with microbiological pollutants from pharmaceuticals, technical microplastics and nutrients, all in low concentration. Fraunhofer IKTS develops a number of technological solutions for these various issues in the field of water and waste water treatment – from the material, part and component levels up to complete processes and plants. Some of these solutions are presented in this brochure.

Topics

 

Waste water

Efficient solutions for the treatment of contaminated water, free from chemicals or microbiological agents – from consulting to plant design. With the right combination of process steps, even constituents that are difficult to treat can be broken down in a targeted and economical way in centralized and decentralized plants.

 

Industrial process water

Systems for the treatment of industrial waste and process water, tailored to specific requirements – Fraunhofer IKTS provides support in the development of suitable strategies for closing cycles and recovering reusable materials.

Wasser- und Abwassertechnologie

Chemie- und biologiefreie Lösungen für die Abwasserreinigung

Wasser ist sowohl als Lebens- als auch als Produktionsmittel in Landwirtschaft und Industrie unverzichtbar, deshalb ist besonderes Augenmerk auf den schonenden Umgang mit dieser Ressource zu legen. Das gilt nicht zuletzt aus wirtschaftlichen Gründen: an vielen Standorten, vor allem in Nordamerika und Asien aber auch Süd-Europa, verhindert mangelnde Wasserverfügbarkeit oder -qualität die Ansiedlung von Industrien. Zunehmend mehr Produktionsbetriebe weltweit werden in diesem Kontext mit der Forderung nach „Zero Liquid Discharge“ (ZLD) durch vollständige Kreislaufschließung konfrontiert.

Vor diesem Hintergrund entsteht der aktuelle Bedarf der verarbeitenden Industrie an betriebssicheren, möglichst multifunktionalen Komponenten zur Wasserbehandlung, die leicht und flexibel sowohl in bestehende betriebliche Versorgungsinfrastrukturen (Retrofit-Systeme) als auch moderne Fabrikationskonzepte (Industrie 4.0) integrierbar sind. Zudem sollten sie keine Chemikalien benötigen, werthaltige Inhaltsstoffe simultan rückgewinnen und entstehende Schadstoffe konzentrieren und dann rückstandsfrei abbauen können.

Während jedoch in der Industrie zumeist hohe Salzfrachten und persistente organische Reststoffe aus Produktions- und Reinigungsprozessen eine effektive Kreislaufführung verhindern, stehen in der kommunalen Abwasserreinigung vor allem niedrig konzentrierte pharmazeutische Mikroschadstoffe und technische Mikroplastik sowie die Nährstoffe verstärkt im Fokus. Für diese vielfältigen Problemstellungen im Bereich der Wasser- und Abwasserbehandlung entwickelt das Fraunhofer IKTS verschiedene technologische Lösungen beginnend von der Material- über Bauteil- und Komponentenebene bis hin zu vollständigen Prozessen und Anlagen, einige sind an dieser Stelle zusammengestellt.

Themen

 

Abwässer

Effiziente Lösungen für die chemie- und biologiefreie Behandlung von verunreinigtem Wasser – mit der Kombination der richtigen Verfahrensschritte können selbst schwer zu behandelnde Inhaltsstoffe in zentralen und dezentralen Anlagen zielgerichtet und wirtschaftlich abgebaut werden.

 

Industrielle Prozesswässer

Anforderungsspezifische Systeme für die Aufbereitung industrieller Ab- und Prozesswässer – das Fraunhofer IKTS unterstützt bei der Entwicklung geeigneter Strategien zur Kreislaufschließung und Wertstoffrückgewinnung.