Ultrasound

© Fraunhofer IKTS

Lab system of the VARIUS ultrasonic scanner for detecting hollow spaces or cracks in weld seams and glued joints and other faults in composite materials.

© arxes-tolina GmbH

Phased-array test system for solid shafts for wheel sets.

© INSPECTOR SYSTEMS Rainer Hitzel GmbH

Ultrasonic testing robot for DN 200-300 pipes, equipped with PCUS® pro.

Test systems for lab applications

Fraunhofer IKTS develops highly specialized ultrasonic test systems used in fields not fully served by the current product portfolios of test device manufacturers. The development of a test system always starts with the assessment of the customer’s individual requirements with regard to maximum scan area, required precision, electronics and analysis software. Based on this assessment, ultrasonic test systems for lab applications that comply with the requirements can be developed within collaborative or bilateral projects, e.g. for sample quality testing of materials or products. One focus of IKTS is the supply and implementation of systems for measuring sound fields and other transducer parameters, such as center frequency and bandwidth, for the manufacturers of ultrasonic transducers. IKTS also implements upgrades of systems for newly developed measurement methods that have already been tested for fixed transducer positions and are now to be extended by a scanning option.

Services offered

  • Building of customized multi-axis scanners according to cus­tomer requirements
  • Integration of ultrasonic electronics from the PCUS® pro series of Fraunhofer IKTS or from second source providers
  • Control of single probes and/or phased array probes
  • Signal analysis options and dynamic depth focusing
  • Adaptation of alternative sensors is possible (e.g. laser vi­brometer, electrodynamic probes, hydrophones, small ma­nipulator systems, such as HUGO III)

 

Test systems for industrial applications

Industrial test systems are used for interval-based inspection and maintenance as well as for integrated quality assurance within a production line. The requirements for this with regard to robust hardware and intuitive software vary depending on the actual use case. Beside providing installations from the institute’s own development efforts, IKTS also builds customer- specific test systems for manufacturing processes from commercially available industrial robots.

 

Ultrasonic test systems for railway vehicles

The test systems devised by Fraunhofer IKTS have often been used in the field of railway vehicles, where safety is key. The focus of development was on systems for testing components which experience high levels of stress, such as axles and wheels. These systems were developed in cooperation with partners from industry and are successfully marketed around the world. Fraunhofer IKTS has provided these systems with the institute’s own power electronics of the PCUS® pro series, as well as the intuitive PCUS® pro Lab software, which enable error-safe testing.

© Fraunhofer IKTS

Ultrasonic measurements with scan carriage on the GFRP spar boom area of a rotor blade on a wind turbine.

Hollow shaft test system

With the aim of creating an optimized testing process, for instance for detecting transverse cracks in wheel set shafts, Fraunhofer IKTS and partners from the industry have developed a hollow shaft test system for high-speed trains, such as the ICE, TGV, Shinkansen or Bombardier Zefiro. With its high data rates and the parallel FPGA design, the powerful PCUS® pro electronics ensures fast and customizable parameterization, and thus the safe testing of the axles.

Performance parameters

  • System with seven independent single element probes
  • Based on PCUS® pro Multi and PCUS® pro Lab software
  • Fully automatic operation and analysis mode
  • Adapter for connection to different wave types
  • Fast testing from only one side

Solid shaft test system

The solid shaft test system for freight train axles completes the portfolio of ultrasonic test systems for railway vehicles developed by Fraunhofer IKTS. Based on ultrasonic phased array, coated solid shafts for wheel sets can be tested for surface defects in areas that are prone to cracks, such as cross-section transitions.

Performance parameters

  • Testing of coated solid shafts for wheel sets
  • Cycle time: less than 4 minutes
  • Visualization of test results in real time
  • Use of up to 8 phased-array probes (32 elements) simultane­ously
  • Fully automatic operation and analysis mode
  • Three PCUS® pro Array electronics in parallel operation

 

Ultrasonic inspection robot

Service robots can simplify otherwise very complex inspections. They also increase safety for service staff and reduce costs by saving time. However, the testing manipulators need to be robust and work free of errors. That is the case for the testing electronics that Fraunhofer IKTS has developed specifically for use in harsh environments, used in so-called crawlers or inspection robots in conjunction with the PCUS® pro software. These robots work in pipelines that are difficult to access, mostly installed underground, sometimes at great height. Furthermore, with the ultrasonic scan carriage, IKTS has developed an inspection robot for the inspection and maintenance of rotor blades on wind turbines, which is also equipped with PCUS® pro electronics. This inspection robot has a range of up to one meter and has adaptable ultrasonic probes. It can drive along and scan high-risk rotor blades fast and automatically.

Ultraschall

© Fraunhofer IKTS

Laborsystem des Ultraschallscanners VARIUS zur Detektion von Hohlräumen und Rissen in Schweiß- oder Klebverbindungen und weiteren Fehlern in Verbundwerkstoffen.

© arxes-tolina GmbH

Gruppenstrahler-Prüfsystem für Radsatzvollwellen.

© INSPECTOR SYSTEMS Rainer Hitzel GmbH

Mit PCUS® pro ausgestatteter Ultraschall-Prüfroboter für Rohre DN 200-300.

Prüfsysteme für Laboranwendungen

Das Fraunhofer IKTS entwickelt hochspezialisierte Ultraschall-Prüfsysteme für Bereiche, die durch die aktuellen Angebote von Prüfgeräteherstellern nicht vollständig abgedeckt werden. Ausgangspunkt eines jeden Prüfsystems ist eine kundenindividuelle Analyse der Anforderungen hinsichtlich maximalem Scanbereich, notwendiger Genauigkeit, Elektronik und Auswertesoftware. Auf dieser Grundlage können im Rahmen von Verbund- oder bilateralen Projekten anforderungsgerechte Ultraschall-Prüfsysteme für Laboranwendungen, z. B. zur stichprobenartigen Qualitätsprüfung von Materialien oder Produkten, entwickelt werden. Als Leistungsschwerpunkt liefert und implementiert das IKTS speziell für Hersteller von Ultraschallwandlern Systeme zur Vermessung von Schallfeldern und weiteren Wandlerparametern, wie Mittenfrequenz und Bandbreite. Auch Systemerweiterungen bei neuentwickelten Messverfahren, die bereits für feste Wandlerpositionen erprobt wurden und nun um eine Scanoption erweitert werden sollen, setzt das IKTS um.

Leistungsangebot

  • Aufbau von Mehrachsscannern nach Kundenanforderung
  • Integration von Ultraschall-Elektronik aus der PCUS® pro-Reihe des Fraunhofer IKTS oder Second-Source-Anbietern
  • Ansteuerung von Einzelprüfköpfen und/oder Phased-Array-Prüfköpfen
  • Signalanalyseoptionen und Dynamic Depth Focussing
  • Adaption von alternativen Sensoren möglich (z. B. Laservibrometer, elektrodynamische Sonden, Hydrophone, Kleinmanipulatoren wie HUGO III)

 

Prüfsysteme für Industrieanwendungen

Industrielle Prüfsysteme werden bei der intervallbasierten Inspektion und Wartung sowie bei der integrierten Qualitätssicherung innerhalb der Fertigungslinie eingesetzt. Die dafür notwendigen Anforderungen hinsichtlich robuster Hardware und intuitiver Software variieren je nach Einsatz. Das IKTS baut neben komplett eigenentwickelten Anlagen auch kundenindividuelle Prüfsysteme für Fertigungsprozesse aus kommerziell
verfügbaren Industrierobotern auf.

 

Ultraschall-Prüfsysteme für Schienenfahrzeuge

In der Vergangenheit haben die vom Fraunhofer IKTS konzipierten Prüfsysteme besonders im sicherheitsrelevanten Bereich der Schienenfahrzeuge Einsatz gefunden. Einen Entwicklungsschwerpunkt stellten Systeme für die Prüfung hochbelasteter Komponenten wie Achsen und Räder dar, die in Kooperation mit Industriepartnern erfolgten und weltweit erfolgreich vermarktet werden. Die Prüfsysteme hat das IKTS mit der hauseigenen Leistungselektronik aus der PCUS® pro-Reihe sowie der intuitiv bedienbaren Software PCUS® pro Lab ausgestattet, die dem Prüfer eine verwechslungssichere Prüfung ermöglichen.

© Fraunhofer IKTS

Ultraschall-Messungen mit Scanwagen über dem GfK-Gurtbereich eines Rotorblatts einer Windenergieanlage.

Hohlwellen-Prüfsystem

Für einen optimierten Prüfprozess, z. B. zum Auffinden von Querrissen in Radsatzwellen, hat das Fraunhofer IKTS gemeinsam mit Partnern aus der Industrie ein Hohlwellen-Prüfsystem für Hochgeschwindigkeitszüge wie ICE, TGV, Shinkansen oder Bombardier Zefiro entwickelt. Die leistungsstarke PCUS® pro-Elektronik garantiert aufgrund der hohen Datenraten und des parallelen FPGA-Designs schnelle und flexible Parametrierungen
und damit eine sichere Prüfung der Achsen.

Leistungsparameter

  • System mit sieben unabhängigen Einzelschwingerprüfköpfen
  • Basiert auf PCUS® pro Multi und Software PCUS® pro Lab
  • Vollautomatischer Betrieb und Analysemodus
  • Adapter zum Andocken an unterschiedliche Wellentypen
  • Schnelle Prüfung von nur einer Seite

Vollwellen-Prüfsystem

Das Vollwellen-Prüfsystem für Achsen von Güterzügen ergänzt das Portfolio der am Fraunhofer IKTS entwickelten Ultraschall-Prüfsysteme für Schienenfahrzeuge. Auf Basis von Ultraschall-Phased-Array können beschichtete Radsatzvollwellen in anrissgefährdeten Bereichen wie Querschnittsübergängen auf Oberflächenfehler geprüft werden.

Leistungsparameter

  • Prüfung von beschichteten Radsatzvollwellen
  • Taktzeit unter 4 Minuten
  • Darstellung der Prüfergebnisse in Echtzeit
  • Gleichzeitige Nutzung von bis zu 8 Gruppenstrahler-Prüfköpfen (32 Elemente)
  • Vollautomatischer Betrieb und Analysemodus
  • Drei PCUS® pro Array-US-Elektroniken im Parallelbetrieb

 

Ultraschall-Inspektionsroboter

Servicerobotik bietet die Möglichkeit, schwer durchführbare Inspektionsmaßnahmen zu vereinfachen. Zudem wird die Sicherheit für das Servicepersonal erhöht und Kosten durch Zeiteinsparungseffekte gesenkt. Die Prüfmanipulatoren müssen jedoch robust sein und fehlerunanfällig arbeiten. Dies gilt vor allem für die Prüfelektronik, die das Fraunhofer IKTS speziell für den Einsatz in harschen Umgebungen entwickelt hat und gemeinsam mit der PCUS® pro-Software u. a. in sogenannten Crawlern bzw. Prüfmolchen einsetzt. Diese arbeiten in schwer zugänglichen, meist erdverlegten oder sich in großer Höhe befindlichen Rohrleitungen. Mit dem Ultraschall-Scanwagen hat das IKTS einen weiteren Prüfroboter für Inspektions- und Wartungsarbeiten von Rotorblättern an Windkraftanlagen entwickelt, der ebenso mit der PCUS® pro-Elektronik ausgestattet ist. Dieser Inspektionsroboter, mit einer Spannweite von bis zu einem Meter und adaptierbaren Ultraschall-Prüfköpfen, kann schnell und ohne Risiko Rotorblätter automatisiert abfahren und abscannen.