Cooperation models

Innovation and development are the cornerstones of a promising corporate future. In order to create a competitive edge, Fraunhofer offers tailored options for cooperation, so that small and medium-sized companies can work together in the best possible way. This also allows to utilize development skills at short notice and as needed.

One-off contracts

The classic cooperation model is the one-off contract. A company perceives a need for research or development. A discussion with Fraunhofer IKTS identifies possible solutions and clarifies the form the partnership could take and the estimated cost.

 

Large-scale projects

Some challenges are so complex that they require multiple partners to develop a solution. Clients in this situation have access to the full range of Fraunhofer Institutes. It is possible to incorporate external partners and additional companies.

 

Strategic partnerships and innovation clusters

Pre-competitive research which starts off without any ties to specific development contracts often results in long-term partnerships with companies on a regional and international level.

 

Spin-offs

Fraunhofer researchers often take the step towards independence by founding their own company. Fraunhofer itself only participates in these kinds of start-ups up to a certain extent. Sometimes the customer who commissioned the new development is interested in taking a stake in the spin-off company.

 

Licensing models

Licenses grant third parties the right to use industrial property rights under defined conditions. They provide an option for making use of an innovation in cases where in-house development is prohibitively expensive, capacities are not sufficient for market introduction, or the innovation does not fit into the company‘s existing range. Fraunhofer IKTS offers flexible licensing models for companywide use, supplementation of the range of offers, or marketing to end customers.

Kooperationsmodelle

Innovation und Entwicklung sind Bausteine für eine erfolgsversprechende Unternehmenszukunft. Um Wettbewerbsvorteile zu generieren, bietet Fraunhofer maßgeschneiderte Kooperationsmöglichkeiten für die bestmögliche Form der Zusammenarbeit für kleine und mittlere Unternehmen. Damit können Entwicklungskompetenzen vom Kunden kurzfristig und bedarfsorientiert abgerufen und genutzt werden.

Einzelaufträge

Der klassische Fall einer Kooperation ist der Einzelauftrag. Das Unternehmen sieht einen Forschungs- oder Entwicklungsbedarf. Das Fraunhofer IKTS entwickelt entsprechend der Anforderungen des Unternehmens eine termin- und qualitätsgerechte Lösung.

 

Verbundprojekte

Manche Problemstellungen sind so komplex, dass mehrere Partner die Lösung entwickeln müssen. Dann steht das gesamte Umfeld der Fraunhofer-Institute zur Verfügung. Auch externe Partner können hinzugezogen werden.

 

Strategische Partnerschaften und Innovationscluster

Aus Vorlaufforschung, die zunächst unabhängig von Aufträgen erfolgt, ergeben sich häufig lang andauernde Partnerschaften mit Unternehmen auf regionaler und internationaler Ebene.

 

Ausgründungen

Fraunhofer-Mitarbeiter machen sich oft mit einer Neuentwicklung selbstständig, an der sich die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft beteiligen kann. Im Einzelfall sind sogar strategische Beteiligungen und Joint Ventures möglich. Auch die Auftraggeber einer neuen Entwicklung können Teilhaber des Spin-off-Unternehmens werden.

 

Lizenzierungsmodelle

Lizenzen räumen Dritten ein Nutzungsrecht an gewerblichen Schutzrechten unter definierten Bedingungen ein. Damit können industrielle Kunden Fraunhofer-Innovationen in ihren Produkten und Leistungsangeboten nutzen. Das Fraunhofer IKTS bietet flexible Lizenzmodelle an, die zum unternehmensweiten Einsatz, zur Optimierung des eigenen Angebots oder der Vermarktung an Drittkunden genutzt werden können. Bei der Gestaltung der Lizenzverträge spielen die Randbedingungen der Kommerzialisierung für das Unternehmen im jeweiligen Marktsegment und die Kooperation mit Fraunhofer IKTS eine Rolle. Ein solches Angebot wird deshalb immer individuell verhandelt.