Characterization I Analysis I Measurement I Testing

Microelectronics and nanoelectronics testing

A special area of expertise at Fraunhofer IKTS is the use of microscopy principles in the transmission-based characterization of components and composites for micro- and nanoelectronics. For this, the application scope of X-ray-based methods is extended to approx. 50 nm to enable three-dimensional visualization of complex geometries.

Tomographic sections through a microchip during a micro-DCB test.
Materials analysis in the X-ray microscope.

X-ray microscopy and tomography

At Fraunhofer IKTS, structures and defects in materials are analyzed by means of X-ray microscopy (XRM) and a method based on it, X-ray nanotomography, performed in an X-ray microscope. These methods enable non-destructive examination of structural and functional materials on a microscopic scale with a resolution of up to approx. 50 nm. Imaging of pores, inclusions, and cracks in composite materials (e.g., CMCs), nanoporous materials (filter membranes), and microelectronics (through-silicon vias) represents the main application. Objects larger than the field of view (max. 65 x 65 μm) can be visualized through sectioning in the X-ray microscope and pasting together of the micrographs to form mosaics.

Especially for low-density materials, the contrast can be enhanced using the Zernike phase contrast technique. This allows for better visualization of interfaces and surfaces as well as delaminated regions and cracks. Thorough materials characterization can be performed at Fraunhofer IKTS through a combination of X-ray microscopy and X-ray nanotomography in conjunction with numerous imaging and analysis methods, such as optical microscopy, micro-CT, electron microscopy (REM, TEM) including spectroscopy (EDX, EELS), and microand nanoindentation.

In situ experiments

With miniaturized thermal and mechanical testing devices situated in the beam path of the X-ray microscope, both threedimensional and four-dimensional data can be acquired in experiments. Currently, the following miniaturized testing capabilities are available for use in the X-ray microscope:

  • Microindenter with variable test specimens (flat punch, sphere, Berkovich, cube corner) up to 1 N
  • Micro double cantilever beam for studying crack propagation
  • Microreaction chamber with temperatures of up to 500 °C (reactive or inert atmosphere)
  • Electromigration and stress migration test methods

Charakterisieren | Analysieren | Messen | Prüfen

Prüfung für die Mikro- und Nanoelektronik

Eine besondere Kompetenz am Fraunhofer IKTS umfasst die Nutzung mikroskopischer Prinzipien bei der durchstrahlenden Charakterisierung von Bauteilen und Verbünden insbesondere für die Mikro- und Nanoelektronik. Dadurch wird der Einsatzbereich der röntgenbasierten Methoden zu Auflösungsgrenzen bis ca. 50 nm erweitert, was auch die dreidimensionale Erfassung komplizierter Geometrien erlaubt.

Röntgenmikroskopie und -tomographie

Ein Verfahren, das am Fraunhofer IKTS zur Analyse von Strukturen und Fehlern in Werkstoffen eingesetzt wird, ist die Röntgenmikroskopie (XRM) und die darauf basierende Nano-Röntgentomographie (Nano-XCT) mittels Röntgenmikroskop. Die Verfahren ermöglichen die zerstörungsfreie Untersuchung von Struktur- und Funktionswerkstoffen auf mikroskopischer Ebene mit einer Auflösung bis ca. 50 nm. Die Hauptanwendungen liegen in der Abbildung von Poren, Einschlüssen und Rissen in Verbundwerkstoffen (z. B. faserverstärkten Keramiken), nanoporösen Werkstoffen (Filtermembranen) und der Mikroelektronik (Through Silicon Vias). Objekte, die größer als das Sichtfeld (max. 65 μm x 65 μm) sind, können durch Mosaikaufnahmen röntgenmikroskopisch abgebildet werden.

Insbesondere bei Werkstoffen mit geringer Dichte kann eine Kontrasterhöhung durch Ausnutzung des Zernike-Phasenkontrasts erreicht werden, um Grenzflächen und Oberflächen, aber auch Delaminationen und Risse hervorzuheben. Für eine umfassende Werkstoffcharakterisierung wird die Röntgenmikroskopie und -nanotomographie zusammen mit zahlreichen abbildenden und analytischen Methoden wie Lichtmikroskopie,
Mikro-CT, Elektronenmikroskopie (REM, TEM) inklusive Spektroskopie (EDX, EELS) und Mikro- und Nanoindentation im Fraunhofer IKTS kombiniert.

In-situ-Experimente

Miniaturisierte thermische und mechanische Prüfvorrichtungen im Strahlengang des Röntgenmikroskops erlauben Experimente so zu beobachten, dass neben 3D-Informationen auch 4D-Datensätze gewonnen werden können. Gegenwärtig stehen folgende miniaturisierte Prüfvorrichtungen für den Einsatz im Röntgenmikroskop zur Verfügung:

  • Mikroindenter mit variablem Prüfkörper (Flat Punch, Sphere, Berkovich, Cube Corner) bis 1 N
  • Micro Double Cantilever Beam für Rissausbreitungsversuche
  • Mikroreaktionskammer für Abbildung unter erhöhten Temperaturen bis 500 °C (reaktive oder inerte Atmosphäre)
  • Elektro-/Stress-Migration-Testverfahren