Acoustic diagnostics – Defect detection | Signal evaluation | Quality assurance

Artificial Intelligence

© iStock: NicoElNino

Measuring and test devices have always had the purpose not only of displaying data and values but also of providing an interpretation and a meaning for the information displayed. Industry 4.0 is experiencing the emergence of test tasks of wider scope and greater complexity. The huge volumes of data generated by new measurement methods and different sensors often make interpretation difficult. Artificial intelligence (AI) is capable of assigning meanings to complex measurement data and assessing overall situations.

Fraunhofer IKTS offers a comprehensive range of state-of-the-art AI methods for automated evaluation of technical and non-technical processes. With the help of signal analysis, pattern recognition, and machine learning processes, sensor signals can be automatically interpreted and assigned meanings, e.g., “Test specimen good“ or “Component remaining lifetime at 20 %“. In the industry 4.0 era, humans no longer perform the task of interpreting data displayed by measuring instruments. Instead, they interact with and monitor AI systems. AI-based measuring and test systems learn the fundamental relationships between sensor signals and their meanings for their specific test tasks by means of examples prior to being used. Later on, they can be “supervised“ and corrected by humans in such a way that they can subsequently adjust and improve themselves in operation. This technology is much more flexible and powerful than traditional test methods are. Apart from the actual AI components, Fraunhofer IKTS uses established signal analysis technology. Primary analysis is essentially based on signal processing methods, including time-frequency transformations (STFT, WT, etc.), digital filters and filter banks, signal modeling (e.g., with optimal filters), and AI-based signal analysis (e.g., CNNs). Secondary analysis is performed to extract relevant information for pattern recognition from the primary features, e.g., by principal component analysis (PCA) or linear discriminant analysis (LDA).

Pattern recognition is based on, e.g., deep neural networks (DNNs), Gaussian mixture models (GMMs), hidden Markov models (HMMs), or support vector machines (SVMs) and includes interpretation of results. The class models required for this are built through special machine learning processes, such as deep learning (DNN), EM algorithms (GMM, HMM), and convex optimization (SVM). In a training phase, the system is supplied with training examples, or sensor signals with known meanings (e.g., “good test specimen“ or “bad test specimen“). Models can then be taught further (adapted) during operation for improving the AI system or adapting it to changed tasks. In certain DNN configurations, the pattern recognizer assumes the task of secondary analysis, as well as primary analysis in part.

Akustische Diagnostik – Fehlerdetektion | Signalbeurteilung | Qualitätssicherung

Künstliche Intelligenz

© iStock: NicoElNino

Von jeher haben Mess- und Prüfgeräte nicht nur das Ziel, Daten und Werte, sondern auch deren Interpretation und Bedeutung anzuzeigen. Im Zuge von Industrie 4.0 entstehen immer vielfältigere und komplexere Prüfaufgaben. Durch neue Messverfahren und unterschiedlichste Sensoren fallen immer größere Datenmengen an, die oft nicht leicht interpretierbar sind. Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) ist in der Lage, komplexen Messwerten eine Bedeutung zuzuordnen und Gesamtsituationen einzuschätzen.

Das IKTS bietet ein umfangreiches Leistungsspektrum an modernsten Methoden der künstlichen Intelligenz zur automatischen Bewertung technischer und nichttechnischer Prozesse. Mit Hilfe von Verfahren zur Signalanalyse, Musterkennung und zum Maschinenlernen können Sensorsignale automatisch interpretiert und in deren Bedeutung erkannt werden, z. B. »Prüfling gut« oder »Bauteil besitzt noch 20 Prozent Restlebensdauer«. Im Zeitalter von Industrie 4.0 übernimmt der Mensch nicht mehr die Aufgabe, Messgeräteanzeigen zu interpretieren. Vielmehr interagiert er mit KI-Systemen und überwacht diese. KI-basierte Mess- und Prüfsysteme erlernen vor der Inbetriebnahme aus Beispielen den prinzipiellen Zusammenhang zwischen Sensorsignalen und deren Bedeutung für ihre individuelle Prüfaufgabe. Später können sie vom Menschen »belehrt« und korrigiert werden und sich damit im laufenden Betrieb selbst anpassen und verbessern. Diese Technologie ist wesentlich flexibler und leistungsfähiger als traditionelle Prüfverfahren. Neben den eigentlichen KI-Komponenten nutzt das IKTS bewährte Signalanalysetechnologie. Die Primäranalyse basiert im Wesentlichen auf Verfahren der Signalverarbeitung, u. a. Zeit-Frequenz-Transformationen (STFT, Wavelettransformation etc.), Digitalfilter und Filterbänke, Signalmodellierung (z. B. mit Optimalfiltern) und KI-basierte Signalanalyse (z. B. CNNs). Die Sekundäranalyse hat die Aufgabe, die für die Mustererkennung relevanten Informationen aus den Primärmerkmalen zu extrahieren, z. B. durch Hauptkomponentenanalyse (PCA) oder lineare Diskriminanzanalyse (LDA).

Die Mustererkennung basiert z. B. auf tiefen neuronalen Netzen (DNN), Gaussian-Mixture-Modellen (GMM), Hidden-Markov-Modellen (HMM) oder Supportvektormaschinen (SVM) und schließt auch die Interpretation der Erkennungsergebnisse ein. Die hierfür notwendigen Klassenmodelle werden durch spezielle Maschinenlernverfahren, beispielsweise Deep Learning (DNN), EM-Algorithmus (GMM, HMM) und konvexe Optimierung (SVM), gebildet. Dazu werden dem System in einer Anlernphase Sensorsignale mit bekannter Bedeutung (z. B. »Prüfling ist gut«, »Prüfling ist schlecht«), auch Lernstichprobe genannt, zugeführt. Modelle können bei Bedarf später während des Betriebs weitergelernt (adaptiert) werden, um das KI-System zu verbessern oder an veränderte Aufgaben anzupassen. In bestimmten Konfigurationen tiefer neuronaler Netze übernimmt der Muster-erkenner die Aufgabe der Sekundäranalyse, teilweise auch der Primäranalyse, mit.