Accredited NDT test lab

Faster implementation of NDT-methods in practical applications

Valid and reproducible  non-destructive testing requires know-how and experience. A large number of national and international standards, which may differ depending on the respective industry, define the framework for the use of established and new methods. Particularly when optimizing and developing new methods and systems, current regulations must be observed and new procedures or equipment must be set up accordingly.

The Deutsche Akkreditierungsstelle (DAkkS) has granted the Fraunhofer IKTS NDT test lab flexible accreditation in categories 1 and 2 according to DIN EN ISO/IEC 17025 for four non-destructive testing methods. This status, which only very few testing laboratories achieve at all, allows the lab to modify procedures in the field of ultrasonic testing, eddy-current testing and acoustic emission technique as well as to develop them further and to create new methods. This ensures that, after appropriate validation, the new methods can be used by the customer in a similar way to standardized procedures. As a result, new testing technologies are implemented much earlier than standardization processes would normally allow. In the case of visual test procedures, the NDT lab is free to choose from standardized or equivalent testing procedures. This has the advantage that equivalent standards can be used for testing without having to obtain prior permission from the DAkkS.

In this way, methods developed at Fraunhofer IKTS can be validated in the field and then applied in a quality-assured manner.

Scope of accreditation

The accreditation of the NDT test lab applies to manual and mechanized testing procedures (ultrasonic, eddy current, visual testing and acoustic emission technique) on metallic components, fiber-reinforced and ceramic materials and composites.

© Fraunhofer IKTS
Ultrasonic scan of a GFRP board in contact technique.

Ultrasonic testing is a method for examining the volume of samples of various geometries and materials. The method is based on sound waves that are introduced into the material and reflected at defects or edges. It is often used to inspect joints, e.g. welded seams. The characterization of layer thicknesses up to 100 µm is also possible with this method.

The accredited NDT test lab at Fraunhofer IKTS offers ultrasonic testing with the following services:

  • Manual and mechanized testing in immersion technique, contact technique, impulse-echo technique, transmission technique and other techniques by request.
  • Use of different probe types (vertical, S/E and angle, immersion and phased array probes) with different frequencies and further parameters
  • Ultrasonic scan on plane, curved and also rotationally symmetric samples of different materials with image reconstruction (feasible object parameters: weight < 100 kg, geometry < 500 x 300 x 300 mm)
  • Detection of volume defects with material- and process-dependent resolution of Ø ≥ 100 µm
  • Development of test concepts and compilation of test instructions
  • Validation of new processes, also developed by the customer
© Fraunhofer IKTS
Eddy-current scan for defect detection on a CFRP component.

The eddy-current method is a very fast electromagnetic test procedure. A small alternating field is coupled into the electrically conductive material with a coil. The interaction in the material allows conclusions to be drawn on surface defects, layer thicknesses and geometric properties. The resolutions are very different depending on the specific task, geometry and material.

The accredited NDT test lab at Fraunhofer IKTS offers eddy-current testing with the following services:

  • Manual testing on components of different geometries
  • Eddy-current scans, also with very high spatial resolution (about 200 µm), on flat components
  • Testing for surface defects, determination of conductivity after calibration as well as layer and wall thickness determination
  • Tests with different sensors (absolute and differential sensors), measuring frequencies up to 100 MHz
  • Development of test concepts and compilation of test instructions
  • Validation of new processes, also developed by the customer
© Fraunhofer IKTS
Visual testing with flexible endoscopes in pipe inspection.

Visual testing is used to examine surfaces for visible defects. In most cases, magnifying glasses or endoscopes are used.

The accredited NDT test lab at Fraunhofer IKTS offers visual testing with the following services:

  • Testing for visible defects such as cracks open to the surface, pores, discoloration
  • Testing by means of endoscopy in areas that are difficult to access (e.g. in pipes) and on components with complex geometries
  • Optical magnifications

Glossary

 

Non-destructive materials testing

Non-destructive testing, NDT in short, (or non-destructive inspection: NDI, non-destructive evaluation of materials: NDE) tests the quality of a component without damaging the material itself.

 

Destructive testing of materials

In destructive testing, selected materials are tested for chemical and physical properties and are destroyed or (superficially) altered in the process. The component to be tested can then no longer be used.

 

Data protection (confidentiality and data security)

Fraunhofer IKTS places the utmost importance on confidentiality and data security. Samples and data are stored in additionally secured rooms with very limited access. All employees of the accredited NDT test lab are aware of their special obligation to maintain confidentiality and receive regular training.

Akkreditiertes ZfP-Zentrum

Neue ZfP-Verfahren schneller in der Praxis einsetzen

Zur validen und reproduzierbaren Durchführung von zerstörungsfreien Prüfungen gehören Know-how und Erfahrung. Eine Vielzahl nationaler und internationaler Standards, die sich je nach Branche unterscheiden können, definieren die Randbedingungen für den Einsatz etablierter und neuer Verfahren. Gerade bei der Optimierung und Neuentwicklung von Methoden und Systemen müssen aktuelle Vorschriften eingehalten und neue Verfahren bzw. Gerätesysteme entsprechend aufgebaut werden.

Die Deutsche Akkreditierungsstelle (DAkkS) hat dem Fraunhofer IKTS ZfP-Zentrum nach DIN EN ISO/IEC 17025 die flexible Akkreditierung in den Kategorien 1 und 2 für drei zerstörungsfreie Prüfverfahren ausgesprochen. Der Status, den nur wenige Prüflabore überhaupt erreichen, erlaubt es dem Prüfzentrum, im Bereich Ultraschall- und Wirbelstrom-Prüfung Verfahren zu modifizieren sowie weiter- und neu zu entwickeln. Damit können nach einer entsprechenden Validierung die neuen Verfahren beim Auftraggeber ähnlich wie genormte Verfahren zum Einsatz kommen. Das führt dazu, dass neue Prüftechnologien viel eher, als Normungsprozesse es ermöglichen würden, eingesetzt werden. Beim Verfahren Sichtprüfung ist dem Prüfzentrum die freie Auswahl von genormten oder diesen gleichzusetzenden Prüfverfahren gestattet. Das hat den Vorteil, dass gleichwertige Normen zur Prüfung genutzt werden können, ohne vorher die Erlaubnis der DAkkS einzuholen.

So können am Fraunhofer IKTS entwickelte Verfahren für die Praxis validiert und anschließend qualitätsgesichert angewendet werden.

Akkreditierungsumfang

Die Akkreditierung des ZfP-Zentrums gilt für manuelle und mechanisierte Prüfverfahren (Ultraschall-, Wirbelstrom- und Sichtprüfung) an metallischen Bauteilen, faserverstärkten und keramischen Werkstoffen und Kunststoffen.

© Fraunhofer IKTS

Ultraschall-Scan an einer GFK-Platte in Kontakttechnik.

Die Ultraschallprüfung ist ein Verfahren zur Volumenprüfung an Proben verschiedenster Geometrien und Materialien. Das Verfahren basiert auf Schallwellen, die in das Material eingeleitet und an Fehlstellen oder Kanten reflektiert werden. Häufig wird es zur Prüfung von Verbindungsstellen, z. B. Schweißnähte, verwendet. Auch die Charakterisierung von Schichtdicken bis zu 100 µm ist mit diesem Verfahren möglich.

Das Akkreditierte ZfP-Zentrum des Fraunhofer IKTS bietet die Ultraschallprüfung mit folgenden Leistungen an:

  • Manuelle und mechanisierte Prüfung in Tauchtechnik, Kontakttechnik, Impuls-Echo-Technik, Transmissionstechnik und nach Absprache auch in weiteren Techniken
  • Nutzung unterschiedlicher Prüfköpfe (Senkrecht-, S/E- und Winkel-, Tauchtechnik- und Phased-Array-Prüfköpfe) mit verschiedenen Frequenzen und weiteren Parametern
  • Ultraschall-Scan an ebenen, gekrümmten und auch rotationssymmetrischen Proben verschiedener Materialien mit Bildrekonstruktion (realisierbare Objektparameter: Gewicht < 100 kg, Geometrie < 500 x 300 x 300 mm)
  • Detektion von Volumenfehlern mit material- und verfahrensabhängiger Auflösung von Ø ≥ 100 µm
  • Entwicklung von Prüfkonzepten und Erstellung von Prüfanweisungen
  • Validierung von neuen Verfahren, auch vom Kunden entwickelt
© Fraunhofer IKTS

Scannende Wirbelstromprüfung zur Defekt-Detektion an einem CFK-Bauteil.

Das Wirbelstromverfahren ist ein sehr schnelles elektromagnetisches Prüfverfahren. Mit einer Spule wird ein kleines Wechselfeld in das elektrisch leitfähige Material eingekoppelt. Durch die Interaktion im Material kann auf Oberflächenfehler, Schichtdicken und geometrische Eigenschaften geschlossen werden. Die Auflösungen sind je nach Fragestellung, Geometrie und Material sehr verschieden.

Das Akkreditierte ZfP-Zentrum des Fraunhofer IKTS bietet die Wirbelstromprüfung mit folgenden Leistungen an:

  • Manuelle Prüfung an Bauteilen verschiedener Geometrien
  • Wirbelstrom-Scans, auch mit sehr hoher Ortsauflösung (etwa 200 µm), an flachen Bauteilen
  • Prüfung auf Oberflächenfehler, Bestimmung der Leitfähigkeit nach Kalibrierung sowie Schicht- und Wanddickenbestimmung
  • Untersuchungen mit verschiedenen Sensoren (Absolut- und Differenzsensoren), Messfrequenzen bis 100 MHz
  • Entwicklung von Prüfkonzepten und Erstellung von Prüfanweisungen
  • Validierung von neuen Verfahren, auch vom Kunden entwickelt
© Fraunhofer IKTS

Anwendung der Sichtprüfung mit flexiblen Endoskopen bei der Rohrprüfung.

Mit der Sichtprüfung werden Oberflächen auf sichtbare Fehler untersucht. Meist werden Hilfsmittel wie Lupen oder Endoskope verwendet.

Das Akkreditierte ZfP-Zentrum des Fraunhofer IKTS bietet die Sichtprüfung mit folgenden Leistungen an:

  • Prüfung auf sichtbare Defekte wie oberflächenoffene Risse, Poren, Verfärbungen
  • Prüfung mittels Endoskopie an schwer zugänglichen Stellen  (z. B. in Rohren) und an Bauteilen mit komplexer Geometrie
  • Optische Vergrößerungen

Glossar

 

Zerstörungsfreie Werkstoffprüfung

Bei der zerstörungsfreien Werkstoffprüfung, kurz ZfP (engl. non-destructive testing: NDT, bzw. non-destructive inspection: NDI, non-destructive evaluation of materials: NDE) wird die Qualität eines Werkstücks getestet, ohne das Material selbst zu beschädigen.

nach oben

Zerstörende Werkstoffprüfung

Bei der zerstörenden Werkstoffprüfung werden gewählte Materialien auf chemische und physikalische Eigenschaften geprüft und dabei zerstört oder (oberflächlich) verändert. Das zu prüfende Bauteil kann danach nicht mehr genutzt werden.

nach oben
 

Datenschutz (Geheimhaltung und Datensicherheit)

Das Fraunhofer IKTS legt größten Wert auf die Geheimhaltung und Datensicherheit. Proben und Daten lagern in zusätzlich abgesicherten Räumen mit stark eingeschränkter Zugangsmöglichkeit. Alle Mitarbeiter des Akkreditierten ZfP-Zentrums sind sich der besonderen Geheimhaltungspflicht bewusst und werden regelmäßig geschult.

nach oben