Oxide Ceramics

Department

The department “Oxide Ceramics” considers itself as contact point for all questions related to the development and application of dense, porous and composite ceramics on the basis of oxides. The advantages of high-performance oxide ceramics in various prototypical applications for medical technology, microelectronics, tool and mechanical engineering as well as lighting engineering are demonstrated in a unique way.

In addition to monolithic ceramics, material composites and coatings are increasingly in the focus of applied research. Closed technological chains from the synthesis of ceramic precursors or the use of commercial raw materials to cost-efficient production technologies to the application in the overall system. Accompanied by an efficient analysis and characterization as well as an intense technical networking with specialized application-oriented departments.

 

Services offered

 

  • Materials synthesis and development on the basis of commercially available raw materials and unique developments with the emphasis on ednse, monophase and multiphase oxide ceramics based on sintered corundum (Al2O3), spinel (MgO · Al2O3), zirconium oxide (ZrO) or other oxides (Y2O3, garnet, etc.), dispersion structures or material composites
  • Material-specific shaping
  • Development of prototypical components and pilot series
  • Accompanied characterization and analysis
  • Consulting on material, construction and application-specific questions

 

Application areas

 

  • Tools and abrasives
  • Bioceramics
  • Microeletronic components
  • Bearings and wear-resistant components
  • Transparent ceramics
  • Coatings and application-specific material composites

Oxidkeramik

Abteilung

Die Abteilung »Oxidkeramik« versteht sich als ein zentraler Ansprechpartner für alle Fragen zur Entwicklung und Applikation von dichten, porösen und Verbundkeramiken auf oxidischer Grundlage. In einzigartiger Weise werden die Vorteile oxidischer Hochleistungskeramiken in verschiedensten prototypischen Anwendungen für die Medizintechnik, Mikroelektronik, dem Werkzeug- und Maschinenbau sowie der Beleuchtungstechnik demonstriert.

Neben monolithischen Keramiken stehen zunehmend Werkstoffverbunde und Beschichtungen im Fokus der Angewandten Forschung. Geschlossene technologische Ketten von der Synthese keramischer Precursoren oder der Nutzung kommerzieller Rohstoffe, über kosteneffiziente Fertigungstechnologien bis zur Applikation im Gesamtsystem. Begleitet von einer leistungsfähigen Analyse und Charakterisierung und einer intensiven fachlichen Vernetzung mit den anwendungsbezogenen Fachabteilungen.

 

Leistungsangebot

 

  • Werkstoffsynthese und –entwicklung auf Basis kommerziell verfügbarer Rohstoffe und unikaler Entwicklungen mit dem Schwerpunkt: Dichte ein- und mehrphasige Oxidkeramiken auf Basis von Sinterkorund (Al2O3), Spinell (MgO.Al2O3), Zirkoniumoxid (ZrO) oder andere Oxide (Y2O3,Granat, ...), Dispersionsgefüge oder Werkstoffverbunde
  • Werkstoffspezifische Formgebung und Entwicklung von prototypischen Bauteilen und Pilotserien
  • Begleitende Charakterisierung und Analyse
  • Beratung zu werkstoff-, konstruktions- und einsatzspezifischen Fragestellungen


Anwendungsbereiche

 

  • Werkzeuge und Schleifmittel
  • Biokeramiken
  • Mikroelektronische Komponenten
  • Lager- und Verschleißteile
  • Transparentkeramiken
  • Beschichtungen und anwendungsspezifische Werkstoffverbunde