Nitride Ceramics and Structural Ceramics with Electrical Function

Group

© Fraunhofer IKTS
Micro gas turbine with ceramic parts subjected to high temperatures.

The research group has proven expertise in both fields of nitride ceramics and ceramics with tailored electrical functions. The main focus of our work is on silicon nitride, sialons for wear applications and structural ceramics which are adaptable between high electrical conductivity and high electrical insulation effect. Due to their excellent chemical and mechanical stability, these materials can be used advantageously under extreme conditions but also in everyday life.

For high-temperature application areas, we also develop and test ceramic matrix composites (CMC) and environmental barrier coatings (EBC) based on oxide and non-oxide ceramic systems.

For the development of nitride as well as electrically functional structural ceramics and the adaptation of their mechanical, electrical and thermal properties we use a wide range of application-specific characterization methods (mechanical, electrical, tribological, corrosion, oxidation, high temperature). Fraunhofer IKTS is able to map the entire value-added chain and thus transfer materials with customized properties to prototypes and small series. For special design or property-related requirements, we develop suitable joining technologies.

Services offered

 

  • Application-oriented development and optimization of nitride ceramics (silicon nitride and sialons) ceramic matrix composites (CMC), ultra-high temperature ceramics (UHTC) and electrically functional structural ceramics
  • Material and component characterization (mechanical, electrical, tribological, corrosion, oxidation, high temperature)
  • High-temperature joining by soldering and bonding
  • Applications: gas turbines, heat conductors, thermoelectrics, wear tools

Topic

Advanced ceramics for gas turbines

Topic

Ceramic Matrix Composites (CMC)

Topic

Electrical characterization and test stand for heating elements

Topic

Electrically functional structural ceramics as heating conductor

Topic

Electrically functional structural ceramics as thermoelectrics

Topic

High-temperature joining by soldering or adhesive bonding

Topic

Silicon Nitride and Sialons

Topic

Ultra-High Temperature Ceramics (UHTC)

Project

Publicly Funded Projects

Nichtoxidkeramik

Abteilung

Nitrid- und elektrisch funktionelle Strukturkeramik

Gruppe

Modell einer Mikrogasturbine mit hochtemperaturbelasteten keramischen Bauteilen.

Die Arbeitsgruppe forscht, entwickelt und berät auf den Gebieten der Nitridkeramik und der Keramiken mit maßgeschneiderten elektrischen Funktionen. Im Fokus unserer Forschung stehen Siliciumnitrid, Sialone aber auch Strukturkeramiken, die einerseits eine hohe elektrische Leitfähigkeit oder eine hohe elektrische Isolationswirkung aufweisen und andererseits aufgrund ihrer exzellenten chemischen und mechanischen Stabilität besonders für Anwendungen im Hochtemperaturbereich geeignet sind.

Für Hochtemperatur-Einsatzfelder werden auch keramische Faserverbundwerkstoffe (Ceramic Matrix Composites, CMC) und Korrosionsschutzschichten (Environmental Barrier Coatings, EBC) auf Basis oxidischer und nichtoxidischer Keramiksysteme in der Arbeitsgruppe entwickelt und getestet.

Die Entwicklung von Werkstoffen und die Anpassung mechanischer, elektrischer und thermischer Eigenschaften werden durch eine breite Palette an anwendungsorientierten Charakterisierungsmethoden unterstützt. In Zusammenarbeit mit den Arbeitsgruppen unseres Instituts bieten wir eine geschlossene Werkstoff- und Bauteilherstellungstechnologie für alle Arbeitsbereiche unserer Gruppe und überführen so Werkstoffe mit maßgeschneiderten Eigenschaften zu Prototypen.

Für spezielle konstruktions- oder eigenschaftsbedingte Anforderungen entwickeln wir für Sie eine auf die Keramik abgestimmte Technologie um unterschiedliche Werkstoffkomponenten zu fügen.