Nonoxide Ceramics

Department

Nonoxide ceramics are characterized by a number of extraordinary properties. Among the carbides and nitrides of boron, aluminum, silicon, titanium, and zirconium, silicon nitride and silicon carbide ceramics are at the core of R&D efforts at Fraunhofer IKTS. Special attention is paid to the extremely high thermal, wear, and corrosion resistance as well as the specific electrical and thermal properties of nonoxide ceramics. Apart from classic monolithic ceramics, ceramic matrix composites (CMCs) and corrosion-resistant coatings as well as structural ceramics with tailored electrical functions (e.g., thermoelectric materials) are investigated. Applications can mainly be found in mechanical engineering, chemical and energy technology, and microelectronics.

Another core topic is ceramics with controlled porosities and cellular structures for filter, catalyst, and substrate applications in the automotive industry, environmental engineering, biotechnology, process engineering, and metallurgy.

The department develops and optimizes materials and components for specialized applications and investigates interactions with manufacturing processes in close cooperation with the Materials/Components department.

Current activities at Fraunhofer IKTS in the area of structural ceramics with tailored electrical functions include development of industrial manufacturing processes for zirconium carbide materials with high stability under vacuum as potential substitutes for tungsten and molybdenum materials in high-temperature applications. Other heating or temperature sensor tasks in combination with structural functions can be fulfilled with specially modified heating elements made of various ceramics.

In the field of carbide ceramics, Fraunhofer IKTS has, for example, developed a process for producing complex SiC components by pressureless casting. Materials made with this cost-effective process can replace conventional materials in pump impellers, nozzles, mills, recuperators, and burners. Thanks to the outstanding chemical, thermal, and tribological properties of SiSiC, increased machine service life and/or productivity can result.

Ceramic matrix composites (CMCs) can replace metals especially for use at high temperatures or for enabling processes to be carried out at much higher temperatures. Fraunhofer IKTS is currently expanding the coating facilities. Homogeneous and continuous coating of endless fibers and rovings as well as three-dimensional woven fabrics will be possible in the future. New possibilities in terms of coating technologies and variations will also be created.

In the field of porous ceramics, LPS-SiC was developed as a material for use in particulate filtration and qualified for mass production of diesel particulate filters, mainly for off-road applications. Industrial introduction of open-cell particulate filters and catalysts for high-efficiency wood-burning appliances, among other things, represents another milestone in our work.

 

Services offered

 

  • Technology-oriented development or improvement of nonoxide ceramics, especially silicon nitride and silicon carbide ceramics and composites
  • Development of short-fiber or long-fiber ceramic matrix composites and corrosion-resistant coatings (environmental barrier coatings)
  • Development of porous and cellular ceramics with pore sizes in the nm to mm range
  • Adaptation of mechanical and tribological properties, electrical and thermal conductivity, chemical corrosion resistance, and high-temperature resistance
  • Concepts for cost optimization of ceramic raw materials, materials, and components
  • Process development, manufacturing, characterization, and testing of prototypes for applications with mechanical, chemical, thermal, and electrical loading

Nichtoxidkeramik

Abteilung

Nichtoxidkeramiken zeichnen sich durch eine Reihe außergewöhnlicher Eigenschaften aus. Unter den Carbiden und Nitriden von Bor, Aluminium, Silicium, Titan und Zirkonium stehen insbesondere Siliciumnitrid- und Siliciumcarbidkeramiken im Fokus unserer Forschungs- und Entwicklungsleistungen. Dabei sind die extrem hohe Temperatur-, Verschleiß- und Korrosionsfestigkeit, aber auch die spezifischen elektrischen und thermischen Eigenschaften der Nichtoxidkeramiken von Interesse. Neben den klassischen monolithischen Keramiken untersuchen wir keramische Faserverbundwerkstoffe (CMC) und Korrosionsschutzschichten sowie Strukturkeramiken mit maßgeschneiderten elektrischen Funktionen, z.B. Thermoelektrika. Die Hauptanwendungen liegen im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau, in der Chemie- und Energietechnik sowie der Mikroelektronik.

Einen weiteren Schwerpunkt der Abteilung bilden gezielt poröse und zellulare Keramiken für Anwendungen als Filter, Katalysator und Trägermaterial in der Fahrzeugindustrie, der Umwelt-, Bio- und Verfahrenstechnik, sowie der Metallurgie.

Die Abteilung entwickelt und optimiert Werkstoffe und Komponenten für spezialisierte Anwendungen, und untersucht die Wechselwirkungen mit den Herstellungsprozessen in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Abteilung Werkstoffe/Bauteile.

Im Bereich der Strukturkeramiken mit maßgeschneiderten elektrischen Funktionen werden derzeit am Fraunhofer IKTS beispielsweise industriell nutzbare Herstellungsverfahren für Zirconcarbid-Werkstoffe mit hoher Vakuumstabilität entwickelt, die Wolfram und Molybdänwerkstoffe in Hochtemperaturanwendungen ersetzen können. Auch andere Heiz- oder Temperatursensoraufgaben in Kombination mit konstruktiven Funktionen können mit speziell modifizierten Heizelementen aus verschiedenen Keramikwerkstoffen erfüllt werden.

Auf dem Gebiet der Carbidkeramiken hat das Fraunhofer IKTS u. a. ein Verfahren entwickelt, mit dem komplexe Bauteile aus Siliziumcarbid durch drucklose Gießformgebung hergestellt werden können. Die Wirtschaftlichkeit dieses Verfahrens ermöglicht unter anderem im Chemie- und Anlagenbau die Substitution konventioneller Werkstoffe in Pumpenlaufrädern, Düsen, Mühlen, Rekuperatoren oder Brennern. Durch die herausragenden chemischen, thermischen und tribologischen Eigenschaften von SiSiC lassen sich dadurch vor allem die Standzeiten von Maschinen und/oder deren Produktivität steigern.

Keramische Faserverbundwerkstoffe (CMC) besitzen vor allem beim Einsatz unter hohen Temperaturen ein hohes Potenzial, metallische Werkstoffe zu ersetzen bzw. Verfahren und Prozesse bei weitaus höheren Temperaturen zu ermöglichen. Aktuell erfolgt im Fraunhofer IKTS der Ausbau der Beschichtungsmöglichkeiten. Damit können zukünftig Endlosfasern und Rovings sowie dreidimensionale Fasergewebe homogen und im kontinuierlichen Betrieb beschichtet werden. Die Anlage eröffnet auch neue Möglichkeiten bezüglich der Schichttechnologien und Schichtvarianten.

Bei den porösen Keramiken wurde flüssigphasengesintertes Siliciumcarbid als Material für die Anwendung in der Partikelfiltration entwickelt und für die industrielle Serienfertigung von Dieselpartikelfiltern, hauptsachlich für Off-Road-Anwendungen, qualifiziert. Die industrielle Einführung offenzelliger Partikelfilter und Katalysatoren u.a. für die emissionsarme Holzverbrennung stellen einen weiteren wichtigen Erfolg unserer Arbeiten dar.

 

Leistungsangebot

 

  • Technologierelevante Weiter- und Neuentwicklung von Nichtoxidkeramiken, insbes. von Siliciumnitrid- und Siliciumcarbidkeramiken und -Compositen
  • Entwicklung von kurz- oder langfaserverstärkten keramischen Verbundwerkstoffen und Korrosionsschutzschichten (Environmental Barrier Coatings)
  • Entwicklung von porösen und zellularen Keramiken mit Porenweiten von nm bis mm
  • Anpassung der Werkstoffeigenschaften im Hinblick auf mechanische und tribologische Eigenschaften, elektrische und thermische Leitfähigkeit sowie chemische Korrosions- und Hochtemperaturbeständigkeit
  • Konzepte zur Kostenoptimierung von keramischen Rohstoffen, Werkstoffen und Bauteilen