Cell concepts

Group

Solid-state battery

Topic

Components and characterization of ceramic solid-state batteries.

Solid-state batteries provide a high level of safety and reliability. One focus of work in the Cell Concepts working group is the development of components for electrolytes and composite cathodes of lithium or sodium batteries. Some of the materials tested for use in solid-state batteries using electrochemical processes were developed at Fraunhofer IKTS itself, others are commercially available materials. Furthermore, suitable processes for the construction of cells from their individual components, interactions between the components and surface reactions are also tested.

For these purposes, the working group uses an extensive glovebox system. It allows the handling of suspensions and samples that are sensitive to water and air and can be processed further and incorporated in test cells. The work focuses on ceramic electrolytes as well as hybrid systems consisting of polymers and ceramic particles.

Beside electrochemical characterization, Fraunhofer IKTS offers a wide range of analytical methods, such as REM, XRD, thermal analytics and microscopy. These methods are also used in post-mortem analyses of solid-state battery cells and electrolytes.

 

Services offered

 

  • Electrochemical measurement at solid-state electrolytes (impedance, cycling etc. in the -20 °C to 100 °C temperature range)
  • Manufacture and processing of suspensions and solutions in inert gas atmosphere, e. g. work under Schlenk’s conditions
  • Vapor deposition of various metals in the glovebox, e. g. lithium vapor deposition of solid electrolyte
  • Hot pressing of pellets in the glovebox
  • Comprehensive material analytics (XRD, REM, TGA, DSC etc.)

Zellkonzepte

Gruppe

Festkörperbatterie

Thema

Komponenten und Charakterisierung von keramischen Festkörperbatterien.

Festkörperbatterien gewährleisten ein hohes Sicherheits- bzw. Zuverlässigkeitsniveau. Ein Schwerpunkt innerhalb der Arbeitsgruppe »Zellkonzepte« ist die Entwicklung von Komponenten für Elektrolyte und Kompositkathoden von Lithium- oder Natrium-Batterien. Dabei werden sowohl am Fraunhofer IKTS entwickelte als auch kommerzielle Materialien mit elektrochemischen Verfahren für ihren Einsatz in Festkörperbatterien getestet. Darüber hinaus werden geeignete Verfahren zum Aufbau von Zellen aus den Einzelkomponenten, Wechselwirkungen der Komponenten untereinander und Grenzflächenreaktionen untersucht.

Die Arbeitsgruppe nutzt dafür ein umfangreiches Glovebox-System, in dem wasser- und luftempfindliche Suspensionen und Proben gehandelt, weiterverarbeitet und in Testzellen eingebaut werden können. Im Fokus der Arbeiten stehen keramische Elektrolyte sowie Hybridsysteme aus Polymeren und keramischen Partikeln.

Zusätzlich zur elektrochemischen Charakterisierung steht am Fraunhofer IKTS eine breite Palette an Analyseverfahren wie REM, XRD, Thermoanalytik und Mikroskopie zur Verfügung. Diese Verfahren werden ebenfalls bei Post-mortem-Analysen für Zellen und Elektrolyte von Festkörperbatterien angewendet.

 

Leistungsangebot

 

  • Elektrochemische Messungen an Festkörperelektrolyten (Impedanz, Zyklierung etc. im Temperaturbereich von -20 °C bis 100 °C)
  • Herstellung und Verarbeitung von Suspensionen und Lösungen unter Inertgas, z. B. Arbeiten unter Schlenk mit Polymeren und keramischen Partikeln
  • Aufdampfen von unterschiedlichen Metallen in der Glovebox, bspw. Lithium-Bedampfung von Festelektrolyten
  • Heißpressen von Pellets in der Glovebox
  • Umfangreiche Materialanalytik (XRD, REM, TGA, DSC etc.)