Bio- and Nanotechnology

Department

The “Bio- and Nanotechnology“ department at Fraunhofer IKTS offers materials, nondestructive testing techniques, and characterization methods combining materials science, immunobiology, and materials diagnostics. Scientists at the sites in Dresden, Hermsdorf, and Leipzig undertake applied research in bio- and nanotechnology to speed up development of marketable solutions for immunobiology, cell production, and medical technology. The department also develops acoustic and optical test systems for all materials classes in production monitoring and control. Extensively equipped laboratories and pilot-plant facilities ensure the efficiency and quality of the development process.

One of the department's core research activities is characterization of materials and components in terms of geometry, material defects (cracks, blowholes, pores, delamination, etc.), mechanical stresses, hardness, microstructure, and other features on a macroscopic to nanoscopic scale. Various methods – e.g., acoustic pattern recognition, atomic force acoustic microscopy, ultrasonic microscopy and laser ultrasonics, optical coherence tomography, and ellipsometry as well as other spectroscopic methods – are used. Special focus is on additive manufacturing. With integration of testing and process monitoring technologies developed at Fraunhofer IKTS, additive manufacturing processes can reach their full potential for bottom-up production of one-offs.

Another core activity is development of technologies and processes for characterization of (immuno)biological properties of implant materials and medical devices. With the help of non-destructive measurement and diagnostic methods, information on interactions between biological and artificial materials can be utilized to improve mechanical stability, service life, and biocompatibility. Materials development and measurement technology are combined to yield novel approaches that can generate considerable added value in all areas of life sciences.

 

Services offered

 

  • Development of rapid, non-contact test technologies based on acoustic, optical, and electromagnetic test methods
  • Improvement of existing analysis methods for measurement and test systems and/or integrated sensor solutions

 

Reference projects

 

  • OCD® – optical cancer diagnosis device for rapid, reliable analysis of prostate tissue samples
  • Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft “THERANOS“ project – technologies for developing theranostic platforms (further development of the “smart hip replacement prosthesis“)
  • Ultrasonic goniometer  (HUGO®) – surface characterization
  • Acoustic pattern recognition for non-invasive blood pressure measurement
  • Acoustic pattern recognition for quality control of gears in automotive engineering or for assessment of music instrument quality

 

Cooperation

 

  • Fraunhofer Institutes (Bio-Nanotechnology Application Lab BNAL at Fraunhofer IZI in Leipzig, IWU, FEP and IPMS)
  • TU Dresden (Germany)
  • Max-Bergmann-Zentrum für Biomaterialien Dresden (Germany)
  • Universität Leipzig (Germany)
  • Universität Heidelberg (Germany)
  • UMIT Innsbruck (Austria)
  • Universität Braga (Portugal)
  • Akademie der Wissenschaften Minsk (Belarus)
  • Yonsei University (South Korea)
  • University of Dayton (USA)
  • West Virginia University (USA)
  • Cape Breton University (Canada)

Bio- und Nanotechnologie

Abteilung

An der Schnittstelle von Werkstoffwissenschaften, Immunbiologie und Materialdiagnostik entwickelt die Abteilung »Bio- und Nanotechnologie« des Fraunhofer IKTS Materialien, zerstörungsfreie Prüfverfahren und Charakterisierungsmethoden. Die Wissenschaftler an den Standorten Dresden, Hermsdorf und Leipzig betreiben angewandte Forschung auf den Gebieten der Biotechnologie und Nanotechnologie, um Ergebnisse der Grundlagenforschung schneller in marktreife Lösungen für die Immunbiologie, Zellproduktion und Medizintechnik zu überführen. Zudem arbeitet die Abteilung an der Entwicklung akustischer und optischerPrüfsysteme für alle Werkstoffklassen im Bereich des Produktionsmonitoring und der Produktionskontrolle. Bestens ausgestattete Labore und Technika sichern einen effizienten und qualitätsgerechten Entwicklungsprozess.

Ein Schwerpunkt der Forschungsarbeiten ist die Charakterisierung von Materialien und Bauteilen in Hinsicht auf Geometrie, Materialfehler (Risse, Lunker, Poren, Delamination usw.), mechanische Spannungen, Härte, Gefüge und weitere Merkmale im makroskopischen bis nanoskopischen Bereich. Dafür nutzen die Wissenschaftler unterschiedlichste Verfahren – z. B. akustische Mustererkennung, akustische Atomkraftmikroskopie, Ultraschallmikroskopie und Laserultraschall, optische Kohärenztomographie und Ellipsometrie sowie andere spektroskopische Verfahren. Ein besonderes Augenmerk richtet sich auf Verfahren der additiven Fertigung. Mit den am Fraunhofer IKTS entwickelten integrierten Prüf- und Prozessüberwachungstechnologien können die Verfahren der additiven Fertigung ihr volles Potenzial für die Bottom-Up-Produktion mit einer Losgröße »eins« entfalten.

Ein weiterer Forschungsschwerpunkt ist die Entwicklung von Technologien und Verfahren zur Charakterisierung (immun)biologischer Eigenschaften von Implantatwerkstoffen und Medizinprodukten. Mithilfe zerstörungsfreier Mess- und Diagnoseverfahren können Aussagen zur Wechselwirkung zwischen biologischen und künstlichen Materialien getroffen werden, um mechanische Stabilität, Lebensdauer und Biokompatibilität zu verbessern. Durch die Kombination von Werkstoffentwicklung und Messtechnologie entstehen neuartige Ansätze, die einen deutlichen Mehrwert in allen Bereichen der Lebenswissenschaften generieren.

 

Leistungsangebot

 

  • Entwicklung schneller und berührungsloser Prüftechnologien auf Basis akustischer, optischer und elektromagnetischen Prüfverfahren
  • Weiterentwicklung bestehender Analyseverfahren zu Mess- und Prüfsystemen und oder integrierten Sensorlösungen


Industrielösungen

 

 

Referenzprojekte

 

  • OCD® – optisches Krebsdiagnose-Gerät zur schnellen und sicheren Analyse von Gewebeproben der Prostata
  • Leitprojekt »THERANOS« der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft – technologische Möglichkeiten zur Entwicklung theranostischer Plattformen (Weiterentwicklung der »Smart Hüftgelenkprothese«)
  • Ultraschall-Goniometer (HUGO®) – Charakterisierung von Oberflächen
  • Akustische Mustererkennung zur nichtinvasiven Blutdruckmessung
  • Akustische Mustererkennung für die Qualitätskontrolle von Zahnrädern im Automobilbau oder zur Gütebeurteilung von Musikinstrumenten

 

Kooperation

 

  • Fraunhofer-Institute (Bio-Nanotechnologie-Anwendungslabor BNAL am Fraunhofer IZI in Leipzig, IWU, FEP und IPMS)
  • TU Dresden
  • Max-Bergmann-Zentrum für Biomaterialien Dresden
  • Universität Leipzig
  • Universität Heidelberg
  • UMIT Innsbruck (Österreich)
  • Universität Braga (Portugal)
  • Akademie der Wissenschaften Minsk (Weiß­russland)
  • Yonsei University (Südkorea)
  • University of Dayton (USA)
  • West Virginia University (USA)
  • Cape Breton University (Kanada)