Optical Test Methods and Nanosensors

Group

Optical Test Methods and Nanosensors

Group

Querying electronics for optical spectral sensors.

Three-dimensional dosimetry system for mapping high-energy radiation on curved three-dimensional free-form surfaces.

High-temperature component labeling under UV light.

Optical methods can be used for rapid, non-contact recording of material, surface, and volume properties of components and products and are hence easy to integrate into production processes. The “Optical Test Methods and Nanosensors” group uses diverse imaging and spectral measurement and analysis approaches to develop and offer sensor materials as well as measurement and monitoring solutions adapted to meet specific customers’ needs. The working group provides unique solutions covering everything from sensor materials, electronics, and software to integration into customer processes.

Ceramic luminescent pigments can be used, e.g., for thermally and chemically stable labeling of workpieces, for non-contact measurement of temperature or thermal history, or as dosimetry materials for ionizing radiation. Nanoscale metal structures are primarily used in monitoring of liquids (material composition, pollutant detection).

The principle behind data acquisition is simple. Sensor materials are applied onto the surface or into the volume of the component, material, or liquid, where they supply information on material condition and occurring processes. Industrial-grade optoelectronic components are developed for querying the optical properties of these sensor materials. Measurement and monitoring solutions are adapted to customer requirements so they can easily be integrated into existing production processes.

 

Services offered

 

  • Customized component labeling for extreme process conditions (e.g., high-temperature processes in metalworking)
  • Development of in-line optical testing and monitoring solutions for monitoring of liquids
  • Development of optical methods for evaluation of energetic history of components and surfaces (ionizing radiation and temperature exposure)
  • Development of robust, industrial-grade optoelectronic components for querying all types of optical spectral sensors
  • Integration into production lines and processes

 

Technical infrastructure

 

  • System for electron irradiation EB-Lab 200 incl. dosimetry system
  • Industrial ink jet printing system and conveyor belt for print tests
  • Industrial barcode, DataMatrix code, and QR code reader systems
  • High-resolution optical microscope and spectrometer
  • Development environment for microfluids and biofunctionalization

 

Industrial solutions

 

Current research

Detection of trace substances in water treatment plants

Elektronikprüfung und Optische Verfahren

Abteilung

Optische Prüfverfahren und Nanosensorik

Gruppe

Abfrageelektronik für spektral-optische Sensoren.

3D-Dosimeter zur Erfassung hochenergetischer Strahlung auf gekrümmten 3D-Freiformoberflächen.

Hochtemperaturfähige Kennzeichnung auf Bauteil unter UV-Licht.

Optische Verfahren bieten die Möglichkeit, Material-, Oberflächen- und Volumeneigenschaften von Bauteilen und Produkten schnell und berührungsfrei zu erfassen. Damit sind diese Verfahren geeignet, um in Produktionsprozesse integriert zu werden. Die Gruppe »Optische Prüfverfahren und Nanosensorik« entwickelt und liefert Sensormaterialien sowie Mess- und Monitoring-Lösungen, die kundenspezifisch angepasst werden. Dafür wird eine breite Palette bildgebender und spektraler Mess- und Analyseansätze genutzt. Die Arbeitsgruppe bietet dabei unikale Lösungen, die von Sensormaterialien über Elektronik und Software bis zur Integration in den Prozess des Kunden reichen.

Keramische Leuchtstoffpigmente können z. B. für die thermisch und chemisch stabile Kennzeichnung von Werkstücken, für die berührungsfreie Messung von Temperatur bzw. Temperaturhistorie oder als Dosimetermaterialien für ionisierende Strahlung genutzt werden. Nanoskalige Metallstrukturen werden vorrangig bei der Überwachung von Flüssigkeiten (stoffliche Zusammensetzung, Schadstoffdetektion) eingesetzt.

Das Prinzip zur Informationsgewinnung ist dabei simpel. Die Sensormaterialien werden auf die Oberfläche oder in das Volumen von Bauteilen, Materialien oder Flüssigkeiten gebracht und übermitteln von dort Informationen über Werkstoffzustand und ablaufende Prozesse. Für die Abfrage der optischen Eigenschaften dieser Sensormaterialien werden industrietaugliche optoelektronische Komponenten entwickelt. Die kundenspezifischen Mess- oder Monitoring-Lösungen erlauben eine reibungslose Integration in bestehende Produktionsprozesse.

 

Leistungsangebot

 

  • Individuelle Kennzeichnung von Bauteilen für extreme Prozessbedingungen (z. B. Hochtemperaturprozesse in der Metallverarbeitung)
  • Entwicklung prozessintegrierter optischer Prüf- und Monitoring-Lösungen für die Überwachung von Flüssigkeiten
  • Entwicklung optischer Verfahren zur Beurteilung der energetischen Historie von Bauteilen und Oberflächen (ionisierende Bestrahlung, Temperaturexposition)
  • Entwicklung robuster, industrietauglicher optoelektronischer Komponenten zur Abfrage aller Arten von spektral-optischen Sensoren
  • Integration in Fertigungsanlagen und -prozesse

 

Ausstattung

 

  • Elektronenbestrahlungssystem EB-Lab 200 inkl. Dosimetriesystem
  • Industriell einsetzbares Inkjet-Drucksystem und Förderband für Drucktests
  • Industriell einsetzbare Lesesysteme für Bar-, Data Matrix- und QR-Codes
  • Hochauflösende optische Mikroskopie und Spektroskopie
  • Entwicklungsumgebung für Mikrofluidik und Biofunktionalisierung

 

Industrielösungen