Systems for Testing and Analysis

Department

The "Systems for Testing and Analysis" department at Fraunhofer IKTS has a long history of ultrasonic and eddy current testing know-how extending back to the 1960s at the Zentralinstitut für Kernforschung in Dresden Rossendorf.

With individual analysis algorithms, complex structures are investigated and applications, sensors, and methods tailored to specific ultrasonic and eddy current test methods are developed. Examples range from piezoelectric ceramics and a modular software suite for non-destructive testing to certified industrial test systems.

The process starts with scientific consulting to clarify basic NDT issues by means of simulation-assisted feasibility and optimization studies, continues with in-house development of sensors – adapted to geometries, materials, and acoustic parameters – and development of suitable software (PCUS® pro LAB) for special applications, and ends with complete DIN EN 12668-compliant test systems (PCUS® pro series for ultrasonic applications or the EddyCus® high-frequency eddy current method for testing carbon textiles).

 

Industrial solutions

Prüf- und Analysesysteme

Abteilung

Die Abteilung Prüf- und Analysesysteme am Fraunhofer IKTS steht für ein jahrelang gewachsenes Know-how im Bereich der Ultraschall- und Wirbelstromprüfung, dessen Anfänge bis in die 1960er Jahre am Zentralinstitut für Kernforschung in Dresden Rossendorf zurückreichen.

Mit individuellen Auswertealgorithmen werden komplexe Strukturen untersucht und für besondere Ultraschall- und Wirbelstromprüfverfahren maßgeschneiderte Applikationen, Sensoren und Verfahren entwickelt, die von der piezoelektrischen Keramik über eine modulare Software-Suite für zerstörungsfreie Prüfaufgaben bis zum zertifizierten industriellen Prüfsystem reichen.

Dies beginnt bei der wissenschaftlichen Beratung zu grundlegenden Fragen der ZfP mit simulationsgestützten Machbarkeits- und Optimierungsstudien, erstreckt sich weiter über eigens entwickelte Sensoren –anpassbar an Geometrien, Materialien und an weitere akustische Parameter – die passende Software-Entwicklung (PCUS® pro LAB) für Spezialanwendungen bis hin zu kompletten DIN EN 12668-konformen Prüfsystemen (PCUS® pro-Gerätereihe für Ultraschallanwendungen oder die EddyCus®-Hochfrequenz-Wirbelstromtechnik zur Carbon-Textil-Prüfung).

 

Industrielösungen