Ceramic-integrated miniaturized coils for speed measurement in turbochargers

Current research

Sintered and separated LTCC double-D coil, size compared with matchstick.

CT scan image of LTCC double- D coil in the sensor head.

Complete turbocharger speed sensor from Jaquet Technology Group.

Eddy-current sensors enable the non-contact detection of path, distance, position, vibrations and speeds in electrically conductive materials. Ceramic multilayer technology (LTCC – low-temperature co-fired ceramics) offers a great platform for integrating bespoke eddy-current-sensing coils into very small assemblies. LTCC-printed and embedded measuring coils can be used in very rough environments at operation temperatures of up to 550 °C.

Together with the Jaquet Technology Group, Fraunhofer IKTS has developed an LTCC coil for measuring the rotational speed in the turbochargers of vehicle engines. Speed measurement is crucial for supplying the engine with the optimum air mass and thus minimizing fuel consumption.

Sensor element layout

A crucial element for its performance is the quality factor of the embedded coil. Thanks to new LTCC manufacturing processes developed at Fraunhofer IKTS, the lateral winding distance of the printed coils could be reduced to 30 μm, which improves the coil’s conductivity. At the same time, the metallization thickness was enhanced, reducing the internal resistance. The result was a measuring signal with much less noise and loss. In addition to miniaturization with optimized quality, the integration of a bespoke coil design in LTCC was also a big driver of development. Coils of this type are typically produced as wound coils with a spiral-like shape.

The LTCC double D-coil developed at Fraunhofer IKTS delivers a narrow-band magnetic field thanks to the tailored design and thus a clearer measuring signal on turbocharger blades, for example on those made of aluminum or titanium. These innovative microcoils in the bespoke LTCC double D-design with optimized quality and an aspect ratio of > 1 (height to width ratio of printed conductor paths) stand out from the current state of the art.

Manufacturing

Because of its optimized sensor properties, the novel LTCC coil technology will be included in the product portfolio of the Jaquet Technology Group for the measurement of turbocharger speed on both passenger cars and trucks.

Services offered

  • Development and construction of bespoke LTCC coils (sensors, transformers, etc.)
  • Assembly and testing of pre-production series

Supported by

Mikrosysteme, LTCC und HTCC

Gruppe

Forschung aktuell: Keramikintegrierte Miniaturspulen für die Drehzahlmessung in Turboladern

Thema

Gesinterte LTCC-Doppel-D-Spule im Größenvergleich zu einem Streichholzkopf.

CT-Scan-Aufnahme der LTCC-Spule in Sensor-Vergussmasse.

Querschnittsbild der LTCC-Spule.

Wirbelstromsensoren ermöglichen bei elektrisch leitenden Materialien die berührungslose Erfassung von Weg, Abstand, Position sowie Schwingungen und Geschwindigkeiten. Die keramische Multilayer-Technologie (Low-Temperature Co-Fired Ceramics, LTCC) bietet hier die optimale Plattform, um Messspulen der aktiven Wirbelstromsensorik flexibel in sehr kleine Bauformen zu integrieren. In LTCC gedruckte und eingebettete Messspulen können in sehr rauen Umgebungen bei Einsatztemperatur bis 550 °C verwendet werden.

Gemeinsam mit der Jaquet Technology Group hat das Fraunhofer IKTS eine LTCC-Spule zur Messung der Drehzahl im Turbolader von Fahrzeugmotoren entwickelt. Die Drehzahlmessung ist entscheidend, um den Motor mit der optimalen Luftmasse zu versorgen und somit den Kraftstoffverbrauch zu minimieren.

Layout des Sensorelements

Entscheidend für die Performance ist der Gütefaktor der Messspule. Durch neuartige, am IKTS entwickelte LTCC-Fertigungsprozesse konnte der laterale Windungsabstand der gedruckten Spulen auf 30 μm gesenkt werden, was deren Induktivität verbessert. Gleichzeitig wurde die Metallisierungsschichtdicke erhöht und somit der Innenwiderstand der Spulen signifikant reduziert. Im Ergebnis konnte ein deutlich rausch- und verlustärmeres Messsignal erzielt werden.

Entwicklungstreiber war neben der Miniaturisierung mit optimierter Güte auch die Integration eines flexiblen Spulendesigns in LTCC. Typischerweise werden Spulen dieser Art als gewickelte Drahtspulen in Spiralform realisiert. Die am Fraunhofer IKTS entwickelte LTCC-Doppel-D-Spule liefert aufgrund des zugeschnittenen Designs ein schmalbandigeres magnetisches Feld und somit ein deutlicheres Messsignal an Turboladerschaufeln beispielsweise aus Aluminium wie auch aus Titan. Diese neuartigen Mikrospulen im flexiblen LTCC-Doppel-D-Design mit optimierter Güte und einem Aspektverhältnis von > 1 (Höhe-zu-Breite-Verhältnis der gedruckten Leiterbahnen) heben sich weit vom aktuellen Stand der Technik ab.

Produktion

Aufgrund der optimierten Sensoreigenschaften wird diese innovative LTCC-Spulentechnologie in das Produktportfolio der Jaquet Technology Group zur Messung der Drehzahl von Turboladern für PKWs und LKWs aufgenommen.

Leistungs- und Kooperationsangebot

  • Entwicklung und Konstruktion von individuellen LTCC-Spulenvarianten (Sensoren, Transformatoren, etc.)
  • Aufbau und Erprobung von Vorserien

Gefördert durch