Departments

Competence in ceramics

At Fraunhofer IKTS, an interdisciplinary team of chemists, physicists, and materials scientists work in six research fields with the support of experienced technicians and research engineers. Focus is on ceramics manufacturers and users as project partners. Fraunhofer IKTS serves as a competent partner and initial contact for all ceramics-related problems, thus practically providing a “one stop shop” for ceramics.

Our mission is to bring technology worlds together, providing access to the diverse innovative solutions afforded by ceramics to our partners.

 

Structural Ceramics

Fraunhofer IKTS masters powder technological production processes for all ceramic substance classes at highest level. Prototypes and pre-series, the development of industrial production processes and the implementation of quality processes can be realized for partners and customers.

 

Process and Materials Characterization

Fraunhofer IKTS offers numerous characterization methods as well as extensive kiln technology for targeted development and optimization of materials, components and process.

 

Environmental and Process Engineering

Fraunhofer IKTS is one of the world’s top research institutions in the field of materials separation and reaction technology by means of ceramic membranes. Ceramic membranes, filters, adsorbents and catalysts play a central role.

 

Energy Systems / Bio- and Medical Technology

Fraunhofer IKTS supports industry and research partners in developing components and systems for energy and medical technology. Comprehensive experiences with ceramic materials and technologies as well as test and diagnostic systems are basis for that.

 

Electronics and Microsystems

Fraunhofer IKTS offers materials and production technologies, design rules as well as test technologies in order to continually extend the field of application for miniaturized systems, to shorten development cycles and to ensure system reliability.

Abteilungen

Kompetenz in Keramik

Im Fraunhofer IKTS arbeiten Chemiker, Physiker und Werkstoffwissenschafler in aktuell sechs Forschungsfeldern interdisziplinär zusammen, wobei alle Arbeiten durch versierte Techniker und Forschungsingenieure begleitet werden. Neben den Keramikherstellern stehen insbesondere die Keramikanwender als Projektpartner im Fokus. Das Fraunhofer IKTS möchte sich hierbei als kompetenter Ansprechpartner und erster Anlaufpunkt für alle keramikbezogenen Problemstellungen anbieten und so quasi als "One Stop Shop" für die Keramik dienen.

Unsere Mission sehen wir speziell in der Verbindung verschiedener Technologiewelten. Unseren Partnern möchten wir die Welt der Keramik mit ihren vielfältigen innovativen Lösungsmöglichkeiten eröffnen.

 

Strukturkeramik

Das Fraunhofer IKTS beherrscht für alle keramischen Stoffklassen pulvertechnologische Fertigungsverfahren auf höchstem Niveau. Dabei lassen sich für Partner und Kunden Prototypen und Vorserien realisieren, industrielle Fertigungsprozesse entwickeln und Qualitätsprozesse implementieren.

 

Werkstoff- und Prozesscharakterisierung

Das Fraunhofer IKTS bietet zahlreiche Charakterisierungsmethoden sowie eine umfangreiche Ofentechnik für die gezielte Entwicklung und Optimierung von Werkstoffen, Bauteilen und Prozessen.

 

Umwelt- und Verfahrenstechnik

Das Fraunhofer IKTS gehört auf dem Gebiet der Stofftrenn- und Reaktionstechnik mit Hilfe von keramischen Materialien zu den weltweit führenden Forschungseinrichtungen. Keramische Membranen, Filter, Adsorbenzien und Katalysatoren spielen eine zentrale Rolle.

 

Energiesysteme / Bio- und Medizintechnik

Das Fraunhofer IKTS unterstützt Industrie- und Forschungspartner bei der Entwicklung von Komponenten und Systemen für die Energie- und Medizintechnik. Grundlage hierfür bilden umfangreiche Erfahrungen mit keramischen Werkstoffen und Technologien sowie Prüf- und Diagnosesystemen.

 

Elektronik und Mikrosystemtechnik

Das Fraunhofer IKTS bietet Materialien und Fertigungstechnologien, Designregeln sowie Prüftechnologien, um die Einsatzgebiete miniaturisierter Systeme kontinuierlich zu erweitern, Entwicklungszyklen zu verkürzen und Systemzuverlässigkeit sicherzustellen.