Trade fair  /  10/01/2017  -  10/05/2017

EuroPM 2017

Europe's annual powder metallurgy congress and exhibition is set to feature a world class technical program and exhibition on powder metallurgical supply chain.

 

Booth 8

Innovative glass heating components via 2C injection molding

Glass-powder injection molding is an alternative powder-technological route to the conventional production methods for glass components, which are mostly melt-based. It allows the production of large-size glass components with complex geometry, microstructured surfaces and sharp edges – without the need for expensive grinding or etching processes. Depending on the graphite content, their conductivity lies between 300 and 1 Ωcm. The homogeneous temperature distribution was detected in infrared tests. In contrast to conventional metal-based components for heating applications, the glass components are significantly more compact and cost-effective. Heatable nozzles and crucibles are shown.

 

Cost-effectiveness despite the use of diamonds

Due to its high hardness and chemical resistance, diamond is used in cutting tools or stone drills. Up to now, the high production costs for the high-pressure process limit the application possibilities of this material. Researchers at IKTS have now succeeded in the pressure-free production of complex-shaped diamond-ceramic composites. The materials substitution of the expensive diamond by ceramics with comparable properties results in a significant reduction of raw material and, thus, in cost savings. These robust and extremely wear-resistant composites provide manufacturers with the greatest flexibility regarding component size and enable previously excluded application fields. Shown are tubes with an inner diamond-ceramic coating and an extreme wear resistance.

 

3D printing with ceramics and hardmetals

Fraunhofer IKTS has been using AM methods for ceramic components since the 1990s and was a founding member of the Fraunhofer Additive Manufacturing Alliance, which was established in 1998. Today, Fraunhofer IKTS offers complete AM solutions ranging from powder and suspension/feedstock development and production method selection to functionalization and quality control of novel parts and systems. A wide range of materials – oxide and non-oxide ceramics as well as glass, hardmetals, and metals – can be processed in powder form by 3D printing. Shown are components for microreaction technology or toolmaking with highly complex structures, such as wire drawing nozzles with integrated cooling channel.

Messe  /  1.10.2017  -  5.10.2017

EuroPM

Die jährlich stattfindende EuroPM beleuchtet die pulvertechnologische Wertschöpfungskette und lockt mit einem erstklassigen technischen Programm und begleitender Ausstellung.

 

Stand 8

Neuartige Glasheizbauteile über 2K-Spritzguss

Das Glaspulverspritzgießen ist eine pulvertechnologische Alternativroute zu den konventionellen Herstellungsmethoden für Glasbauteile, die zumeist Schmelze-basiert arbeiten. Es ermöglicht die Herstellung großserientauglicher Glasbauteile mit komplexer Geometrie, mikrostrukturierten Oberflächen und scharfen Kanten – ohne aufwändige Schleif- oder Ätzprozesse anschließen zu müssen. Je nach Grafitgehalt kann deren Leitfähigkeit zwischen 300 und 1 Ωcm liegen. In Infrarot-Tests wurde die homogene Temperaturverteilung nachgewiesen. Die Glas-Komponenten sind im Gegensatz zu konventionellen, metallbasierten Bauteilen für Heizanwendungen deutlich kompakter und kostengünstiger. Gezeigt werden beheizbare Düsen und Tiegel.

 

Kosteneffizienz trotz Diamanteinsatz

Aufgrund seiner hohen Härte und chemischen Beständigkeit wird Diamant in Schneidwerkzeugen oder Gesteinsbohrern eingesetzt. Bislang limitieren die hohen Fertigungskosten beim Hochdruckverfahren die Anwendungsmöglichkeiten dieses Werkstoffs. Wissenschaftlern am IKTS ist nun die drucklose Fertigung komplex geformter Diamant-Keramik-Komposite gelungen. Die Materialsubstitution des teuren Werkstoffs Diamant durch Keramik ergibt eine deutliche Rohstoff- und somit Kostenersparnis bei vergleichbaren Eigenschaften. Damit bieten diese robusten und äußerst verschleißbeständigen Komposite den Herstellern größte Flexibilität in Hinblick auf die Bauteilgröße und ermöglichen bisher ausgeschlossene Anwendungsfelder. Gezeigt werden z. B. Rohre mit einer Innenbeschichtung aus Diamant-Keramik und extrem hoher Verschleißbeständigkeit.

 

3D-Druck mit Keramik und Hartmetall

Bereits seit den 1990er Jahren nutzt und entwickelt das Fraunhofer IKTS additive Fertigungsverfahren für keramische Bauteile und gehörte 1998 zu den Gründungsmitgliedern der Fraunhofer-Allianz Generative Fertigung. Heute steht das Fraunhofer IKTS für Komplettlösungen im Bereich der Additiven Fertigung von der Pulver- und Masseentwicklung, über die Auswahl der geeigneten Fertigungsmethode bis hin zur Funktionalisierung und Qualitätskontrolle neuartiger Bauteile und Systeme. Die Bandbreite der eingesetzten Materialien ist groß – neben oxidischen und nichtoxidischen Keramiken können auch Hartmetalle in Pulverform über 3D-Druck verarbeitet werden. Gezeigt werden Bauteile für die Mikroreaktionstechnik oder den Werkzeugbau mit hochkomplexen Strukturen, wie Drahtziehdüsen mit integriertem Kühlkanal.