Optics

Profile

 

In the “Optics“ business division, Fraunhofer IKTS designs and supplies ceramic materials, components, and systems for lighting, medical and laser technology, optical measurement and diagnostic systems as well as ballistic applications.

Optical technologies are drivers of innovation and growth. This fact applies to lighting – as in resource-friendly LEDs, for instance – but also to minimally invasive medical diagnostic systems and contact-free measuring devices. With the aid of competitive technologies, Fraunhofer IKTS transfers basic scientific expertise to products that demonstrate high perfor­mance capacity and solid reliability. This technology chain begins with the material and ends with integration into complex systems.

For years now, Fraunhofer IKTS has been the global leader in the development of transparent armor ceramics with special ultrafine crystalline structures and superior mechanical proper­ties. These polycrystalline ceramics exhibit the kind of superior quality that makes them suitable for use in optical or photonic applications that require a high degree of optical homogeneity and mechanical stability while simultaneously keeping absorp­tion and scatter loss to a minimum. Phase synthesis and de­fined doping lead to optically active materials, such as lumi­nescent materials for example phosphors, i.e., materials for which a high quantum yield, defined color temperature and long afterglow times represent quintessential parameters. By combining the know-how of transparent ceramics with the tailored powder synthesis active optoceramics with a homoge­neous distribution of dopants in the ceramic matrix are devel­oped at Fraunhofer IKTS. These components have both active as well as good mechanical and thermal properties, and are suited for a diversity of applications in the field of optoelec­tronics. Of increasing importance for the business division are optical systems – specifically those involving reflection instead of transmission, and are used as high-performance compo­nents in laser and aerospace engineering.

Optical methods hold particular appeal and potential for rapid and cost-effective condition monitoring of materials, modules, and industrial and biomedical processes. Optical procedures can demonstrate their benefits wherever measurements must be contact-free or performed in extreme conditions. At Fraun­hofer IKTS, new and established methods are being developed and integrated as a comprehensive system into the respective process, based on customer specifications. In addition to pro­cesses built on the interaction of light and material, the insti­tute also focuses on optically active nanosensors in the devel­opment of optical measurement and diagnostic systems.

Geschäftsfeld Optik

Profil

 

Im Geschäftsfeld »Optik« bietet das Fraunhofer IKTS keramische Materialien, Komponenten und Systeme für Beleuchtung, Medizin- und Lasertechnik, optische Mess- und Diagnosesysteme sowie Schutzanwendungen.

Optische Technologien sind Innovations- und Wachstums-treiber. Dies gilt für die Beleuchtung, etwa bei ressourcenschonenden LEDs, aber auch für minimalinvasive medizinische Diagnosesysteme oder berührungslose Messgeräte. Das Fraunhofer IKTS transferiert wissenschaftliches Grundlagen-Know-how mit Hilfe von wettbewerbsfähigen Technologien in Produkte mit hoher Performance und Zuverlässigkeit. Diese Technologiekette beginnt beim Werkstoff und endet bei der Integration in komplexe Systeme.

Seit Jahren ist das Fraunhofer IKTS weltweit führend in der Herstellung von transparenten Schutzkeramiken mit besonders feinkristallinem Gefüge und äußerst guten mechanischen Eigenschaften. Diese polykristallinen Keramiken haben eine derart hohe Qualität, dass sie für optische oder photonische Anwendungen einsetzbar sind, die eine hohe optische Homogenität und mechanische Belastbarkeit bei gleichzeitig minimalem Absorptions- und Streuverlust aufweisen müssen. Phasensynthese und gezielte Dotierungen führen dagegen zu optisch aktiven Materialien, bei denen eine hohe Quantenausbeute, thermische Stabilität des Farbraums oder lange Abklingzeiten entscheidende Parameter darstellen. Durch die Kombination des Know-hows von Transparentkeramiken mit der maßgeschneiderten Pulversynthese entstehen am Fraunhofer IKTS aktive Optokeramiken mit einer homogenen Verteilung der Dotanden in der keramischen Matrix. Diese Bauteile haben sowohl aktive als auch gute mechanische und thermische Eigenschaften und finden vielfältige Verwendung in der Optoelektronik. Von zunehmender Bedeutung für das Geschäftsfeld sind optische Systeme, die nicht auf Transmission, sondern auf Reflexion beruhen und als Hochleistungs­komponenten in der Laser- und Weltraumtechnik eingesetzt werden.

Für die schnelle und kostengünstige Zustandsdiagnose von Materialien, Baugruppen sowie industriellen und biomedi­zinischen Prozessen bieten optisch basierte Verfahren ein besonderes Potenzial. Überall, wo berührungsfrei gemessen werden muss oder extreme Bedingungen vorherrschen, können optische Verfahren ihre Vorteile ausspielen. Am Fraunhofer IKTS werden etablierte und neue Methoden entwickelt und nach Anforderungen des Kunden als Gesamtsystem in den jeweiligen Prozess integriert. Neben Verfahren auf Basis der Licht-Materie-Wechselwirkung stellen optisch aktive Nanosensoren einen Schwerpunkt in der Entwicklung optischer Mess- und Diagnosesysteme dar.