Materials and Processes

Profile#

 #

Fraunhofer IKTS‘s “Materials and Processes“ business division offers oxide, non-oxide and silicate materials as well as composite materials, glasses, hardmetals and cermets. Depending on commercially available raw materials and pre-ceramic preliminary stages, these materials are qualified for use in actual applications. They are the prerequisites to manufacturing prototypes and small-scale series (with ceramics custom-fit to the application), which are based on sustainable process developments.

New fields of application are unlocked by systematically linking structural features with the functional properties of ceramic materials and ceramic-metal composites. Concepts like these can be found in temperature-resistant materials, conductive ceramics, luminescent materials, transparent ceramics, poly­crystalline abrasives and functional coatings, among other materials.

Fraunhofer IKTS sets the standard and continuously optimizes its powder technological manufacturing processes to keep them on the cutting edge in every respect – from the utmost purity to the maximum cost efficiency. This enables IKTS to establish the basis for materials and process engineering that parallels today‘s industries. It produces components and parts in multiple lines of technology. It is possible to upscale these products to small- and medium-scale series in-house on equip­ment and machinery suited for industry.

This broad spectrum of shaping services ranges from pressing, casting and plastic molding to additive manufacturing as well as multilayer technologies and direct printing processes. A large quantity of heat treatment methods, as well as the high-performance green machining and finishing reflects the comprehensive range of expertise and services covered by the Fraunhofer IKTS portfolio. With its expertise in coating pro­cesses – including chemical vapor deposition for example, or thermal spraying, surface level properties can be modified and components customized to individual specifications. Here as well, our customers benefit from the closed technology chains, which make it possible for IKTS to take a laboratory develop­ment to pilot-plant scale.

IKTS employees additionally possess the expertise honed by decades of experience in production-tailored and customer-specific component design, and in characterizing material and production processes. This also includes failure and defect analyses of parts and components, and consulting services on how to utilize ceramic components. In addition, the scope of services also includes creating production concepts and evalu­ating production processes while considering cost, quality as­surance and energy efficiency. When introducing innovative technologies and realizing new products, Fraunhofer IKTS can support its partners until the transition to production is launched.

Geschäftsfeld Werkstoffe und Verfahren

Profil

 

Das Geschäftsfeld »Werkstoffe und Verfahren« des Fraunhofer IKTS bietet oxidische, nichtoxidische und silikatkeramische Werkstoffe sowie Verbundwerkstoffe, Gläser, Hartmetalle und Cermets. Ausgehend von kommerziell verfügbaren Rohstoffen oder präkeramischen Vorstufen werden diese Werkstoffe für konkrete Anwendungen qualifiziert. Sie sind die Voraussetzung für die Herstellung von applikationsgerechten keramischen Prototypen und Kleinserien, die auf Grundlage nachhaltiger Verfahrensentwicklungen erfolgt.

Neue Anwendungsfelder werden durch eine gezielte Verbindung von strukturellen und funktionellen Eigenschaften in keramischen Werkstoffen oder Keramik-Metall-Verbunden erschlossen. Solche Konzepte finden sich unter anderem in Hochtemperaturwerkstoffen, leitfähigen Keramiken, Leuchtstoffen, transparenten Keramiken, polykristallinen Schleifstoffen oder funktionellen Schichten wieder.

Das Fraunhofer IKTS beherrscht und optimiert pulvertechnologische Fertigungsverfahren auf modernstem Niveau, sei es im Hinblick auf höchste Reinheit oder auf größte Kosteneffizienz. Damit wird die Basis für eine industrienahe Werkstoff- und Verfahrensentwicklung geschaffen. In mehreren Technologielinien werden Komponenten und Bauteile hergestellt. Ein Hochskalieren zu kleineren und mittleren Serien auf industrietauglichen Maschinen ist hausintern möglich.

Das breite Leistungsspektrum der Formgebungsverfahren reicht von der Press-, Gieß- und plastischen Formgebung über generative Verfahren bis hin zu Multilayertechnologie und Direktdruckverfahren. Eine große Anzahl von Wärmebehandlungsverfahren sowie eine leistungsfähige Grün- und Finishbearbeitung runden das umfangreiche Kompetenzportfolio des Fraunhofer IKTS ab. Mit Beschichtungsverfahren, wie beispielsweise der chemischen Gasphasenabscheidung oder dem thermischen Spritzen, lassen sich Oberflächeneigenschaften verändern und Bauteile den individuellen Anforderungen anpassen. Unsere Kunden können auch hier von geschlossenen technologischen Ketten profitieren, die eine Entwicklung vom Labor bis in den Pilotmaßstab ermöglichen.

Die Mitarbeiter verfügen zudem über langjährige Erfahrungen in der produktionsgerechten und kundenspezifischen Auslegung von Bauteilen sowie in der Charakterisierung der Werkstoffe und Herstellungsprozesse. Hierzu zählt auch die Versagens- und Schadensanalyse von Bauteilen und die Beratung zum Einsatz keramischer Werkstoffe. Das Leistungsangebot umfasst darüber hinaus die Erstellung von Fertigungskonzepten sowie die Bewertung von Produktionsprozessen unter den Aspekten Kosten, Qualitätssicherung und Energieeffizienz. Bei Einführung innovativer Technologien und der Realisierung neuer Produkte kann das Fraunhofer IKTS seine Partner bis zur Überführung in die Produktion begleiten.