Environmental and Process Engineering

Profile

 

With its »Environmental and Process Engineering« business division, Fraunhofer IKTS provides materials, technologies and systems to make converting materials and energies efficient, environmentally compatible and climate-friendly. The focus is on processes in the field of conventional and bioenergies, strategies and methods for keeping the soil, water and air clean and for recovering valuable raw materials from residual waste materials. Many approaches aim for closed material cycles.

Fraunhofer IKTS is one of the leading research institutions worldwide with regard to material separation technology using ceramic materials. Material, technology, and process expertise are all intertwined, thus enabling the development of complex process engineering systems for energy-efficient separation processes, chemical conversion and the recovery of valuable materials. Ceramic membranes, filters, adsorbents and catalysts of Fraunhofer IKTS play a vital role in gas processing and water treatment. Furthermore, ceramic membrane methods are combined with innovative materials to produce novel reactor concepts to make process engineering methods more efficient.

Process engineering know-how regarding the comminution, disintegration and mixing of biogenic substrates is another core competence of Fraunhofer IKTS in the field of biochemical and thermochemical biomass conversion. It allows to convert agricultural residual waste materials to solid, liquid and gaseous energy carriers. It also makes it possible to process nutrients from liquid manure, dung and fermentation products to retain transportable and storable fertilizer products with defined properties.

Numerous lab and pilot plants are used to model, validate and optimize fluidic, electrochemical and thermomechanical characteristics for material transport processes and reactions.
With the high number of labs and technical centers, as well as the application centers for membrane technology and bioenergy, the business division possesses the ideal infrastructure for realizing projects of the most varied volumes and scales. The results are used directly in demonstration plants, which can be built at the clients’ sites and operated by Fraunhofer IKTS.

Geschäftsfeld Umwelt- und Verfahrenstechnik

Profil

 

Im Geschäftsfeld »Umwelt- und Verfahrenstechnik« bietet das Fraunhofer IKTS Werkstoffe, Technologien und Systeme, die die Umwandlung von Stoffen und Energie sicher, effizient, umwelt- und klimaschonend gestalten. Im Mittelpunkt stehen dabei Prozesse im Bereich konventioneller und Bioenergien, Strategien und Verfahren zur Wasser- und Luftreinhaltung sowie zur Rückgewinnung von werthaltigen Rohstoffen aus Reststoffen. Keramische Technologien ermöglichen neue Reaktorkonzepte für die chemische Industrie.

Das Fraunhofer IKTS gehört zu den weltweit führenden Forschungseinrichtungen auf dem Gebiet der Stofftrenntechnik unter Verwendung keramischer Materialien. Werkstoff-, Technologie- und Verfahrensexpertise greifen ineinander und ermöglichen so komplexe verfahrenstechnische Systeme für energieeffiziente Trennverfahren, chemische Umsetzung und Wertstoffrückgewinnung. Keramische Membranen, Filter, Adsorbenzien und Katalysatoren des Fraunhofer IKTS spielen eine zentrale Rolle bei Prozessen der Gasaufbereitung und Wasserbehandlung. Zudem werden keramische Membranverfahren mit innovativen Werkstoffen zu neuen Reaktorkonzepten kombiniert.

Das Wissen um die Prozesstechnik zur Zerkleinerung, zum Aufschluss und Mischen biogener Substrate stellt eine weitere Kernkompetenz des Fraunhofer IKTS im Bereich der biochemischen und thermochemischen Biomassekonversion dar. In zahlreichen Labor- und Pilotanlagen werden fluidische, elektrochemische und thermomechanische Kenngrößen für die Stofftransportvorgänge und Reaktionen modelliert, validiert und optimiert. Mit umfangreichen Laboren, Technika und den Applikationszentren für Membrantechnologie und Bioenergie verfügt das Geschäftsfeld über eine ausgezeichnete Infrastruktur, um Projekte verschiedenster Umfänge und Skalen realisieren zu können. Die Ergebnisse fließen direkt in Demonstrationsanlagen ein, die beim Kunden errichtet und durch das Fraunhofer IKTS betreut werden können.