Bio- and Medical Technology

Areas of application

Gefriergeschäumte Daumenknochenreplikate.
Freeze foamed thumb bone replicas.

Implants

 

For many years, bioceramic materials have been created and optimized at Fraunhofer IKTS, together with functional com­ponents for implantology. With the aid of foaming and casting technologies as well as plasma coatings and sol-gel processes, Fraunhofer IKTS is able to produce and functionalize dense and cellular bioceramics. Novel approaches – such as additive manufacturing or functionalization by means of sensor and actuator systems – are new core research topics for the next generation of implants.

Zirkonoxid für dentale Anwendungen.
Zirconium oxide for dental applications.

Dental ceramics

 

To ensure that dental ceramic components have the right ap­peal regarding their aesthetic traits, biocompatability and ex­traordinary durability, Fraunhofer IKTS researches new types of materials, components and production technologies. The insti­tute is able to process oxide-ceramic materials – e.g. to dental restorations – through continuous process chains (CAD/CAM). In addition, it is possible to targetedly structure the surface of oxide ceramic based implants through the shaping process. For the dental ceramics field, the institute developed a lithium silicate for thin-layer veneering of monolithic restorations made from yttrium-stabilized zirconium oxide. This product delivers a superior adhesive bond, is easy to apply and renders post-implant follow-up superfluous. The comprehensive set of characterization methods facilitates a steady improvement of the properties at the material/semi-finished product level. As part of its initial preparatory research, it studies the most mod­ern processes – such as additive manufacturing of dental com­ponents – optimizes these and certifies them for use in serial production.

Keramisches Multi-Sensor-Array.
Electrochemical multisensor array made of LTCC.

Biosensors and bioactuators

 

Knowledge of how biological tissues interact with various materials is decisive for the development of implants and biofunctional microsystems. The combination of bioceramic materials and biophysical systems creates synergies between ceramics and microsystem technology, thus permitting the production of diagnostic and therapeutic medical devices.

Fraunhofer IKTS has unique expertise in the development of monitoring systems that are used in studies of cellular and microbial growth processes. In addition, Fraunhofer IKTS is working on biophysical actuator systems to promote the tar­geted growth of tissues on implant surfaces and inhibit bacte­rial growth. New kinds of transmission systems ensure that implants have wireless and battery-free power supply.

Keramisch beschichtete Hochfrequenzchirurgie-Zange.
Ceramic-coated surgical clamps.

Surgical instruments and components

 

Ceramic materials are distinctive for their wear resistance, biocompatibility, and chemical inertness, as well as for their targeted modulation of electrical conductivity. This enables creative approaches to the manufacture of functionalized sur­gical instruments as well as a wide diversity of components used in medical technology. High-precision ceramic cutting materials and instruments that clamp and obliterate within one work step, or ceramic springs for X-ray devices: the point where other materials reach the end of their potential is precisely where ceramic materials just begin to exhibit their myriad advantages. With this in mind, the team at Fraunhofer IKTS is constantly in search of trendsetting applications for use in the components and devices of medical technology, to bring the benefits of ceramics to the human race.

3D-Visualisierung eines Zahns mittels optischer Kohärenztomographie.
3D visualization of a tooth, using optical coherence tomography.

Analytics and diagnostics

 

Innovative procedures in optical, acoustic, and bioelectric ana­lytics open up new pathways for the next generation of medi­cal diagnostic systems. At center stage in the research con­ducted by Fraunhofer IKTS are the methods, components, consumable materials and complete systems for oncology, biomedicine, and clinical applications.

Optical methods represent a unique focal point because they can perform rapid, ultrasensitive and contact-free measure­ments. It is therefore the ideal tool for measuring biological processes and defects at the cellular level. This means that the institute can already respond to many medical and diagnostic issues confronting the field of medical technology and the disciplines of life sciences in a simple, cost-effective manner.

The IKTS, in joint collaboration with the Fraunhofer Institute for Cell Therapy and Immunology IZI, established the Bio-Nanotechnology Applications Lab (BNAL) for this purpose. At the interface between cellular biology, medicine, biotech­nology, nanotechnology, and medical technology, scientists address issues affecting everyone, from biological/medical basic research or process engineering to validation and certifi­cation of the latest technologies and system solutions.

Bio- und Medizintechnik

Anwendungsbereiche

Gefriergeschäumte Daumenknochenreplikate.

Gefriergeschäumte Daumenknochenreplikate.

Implantate

 

Am Fraunhofer IKTS werden seit vielen Jahren biokeramische Werkstoffe und funktionale Komponenten für die Implantologie entwickelt und optimiert. Mit Hilfe von Schäumungs- und Abformtechnologien sowie Plasmabeschichtungs- und Sol-Gel-Verfahren können dichte und zelluläre biokeramische Formkörper hergestellt und funktionalisiert werden. Neue Ansätze wie die Additive Fertigung oder die Funktionalisierung mittels sensorischer und aktorischer Systeme sind zentrale Forschungsthemen für eine neue Generation von Implantaten.

Zirkonoxid für dentale Anwendungen.

Zirkonoxid für dentale Anwendungen.

Dentalkeramik

 

Damit dentalkeramische Komponenten durch Ästhetik, Bioverträglichkeit und außergewöhnliche Belastbarkeit überzeugen, forscht das Fraunhofer IKTS an neuartigen Materialien, Komponenten und Herstellungstechnologien. In durchgängigen Prozessketten (CAD/CAM) können oxidkeramische Werkstoffe z. B. zu dentalen Restaurationen verarbeitet werden. Des Weiteren ist es möglich, beim Formgebungsprozess die Oberfläche von Implantaten aus Oxidkeramik gezielt zu strukturieren. Für die Dentalkeramik wurde zusätzlich ein Lithiumsilikat zur Dünnschichtverblendung monolithischer Restaurationen aus Yttrium-stabilisiertem Zirkonoxid entwickelt, welches einen sehr guten Haftverbund liefert, einfach aufzubringen ist und keine Nacharbeit notwendig macht. Ein umfangreiches Set an Charakterisierungsmethoden ermöglicht eine stetige Verbesserung der Eigenschaften auf Werkstoff- und Halbzeugebene. Innerhalb der Vorlaufforschung werden modernste Verfahren wie die Additive Fertigung von Dentalkomponenten untersucht, optimiert und für einen seriellen Einsatz qualifiziert.

Keramisches Multi-Sensor-Array.

Keramisches Multi-Sensor-Array.

Biosensorik und -aktorik

 

Das Wissen darüber, wie biologische Gewebe mit verschiedenen Materialien interagieren, ist entscheidend für die Entwicklung von Implantaten und biofunktionalen Mikrosystemen. Die Kombination biokeramischer Werkstoffe und biophysikalischer Systeme schafft Synergien zwischen Keramik und Mikrosystemtechnik und erlaubt so die Herstellung von diagnostischen und therapeutischen Medizintechnikprodukten.

Eine besondere Kompetenz besitzt das Fraunhofer IKTS in der Entwicklung von Monitoringsystemen zur Untersuchung von zellulären und mikrobiellen Wachstumsprozessen. Darüber hinaus arbeitet das Fraunhofer IKTS an biophysikalischen Aktorsystemen, um das Anwachsen von Geweben auf Implantatoberflächen gezielt zu fördern und das Bakterienwachstum zu hemmen. Neuartige Übertragungssysteme sichern die kabel- und batterielose Energieversorgung von Implantaten.

Keramisch beschichtete Hochfrequenzchirurgie-Zange.

Keramisch beschichtete Hochfrequenzchirurgie-Zange.

Chirurgische Instrumente und Komponenten

 

Keramische Werkstoffe zeichnen sich neben Verschleißfestigkeit, Bioverträglichkeit und chemischer Inertheit auch durch eine gezielte Einstellbarkeit der elektrischen Leitfähigkeit aus. Dies ermöglicht kreative Ansätze bei der Fertigung funktionalisierter chirurgischer Instrumente sowie verschiedenster Komponenten der Medizintechnik. Hochpräzise keramische Schneidmaterialien und Instrumente, die in einem Arbeitsschritt abklemmen und veröden, oder keramische Federn für Röntgengeräte – wo die Möglichkeiten anderer Materialien enden, beginnen keramische Werkstoffe ihre Vorteile auszuspielen. Am Fraunhofer IKTS wird daher permanent an zukunftsweisenden Anwendungen für Komponenten und Geräte der Medizintechnik geforscht, um Keramik zum Nutzen des Menschen einzubringen.

3D-Visualisierung eines Zahns mittels optischer Kohärenztomographie.

3D-Visualisierung eines Zahns mittels optischer Kohärenztomographie.

Analytik und Diagnostik

 

Innovative Verfahren der optischen, akustischen und bioelektrischen Analytik eröffnen neue Wege für medizinische Diagnosesysteme der nächsten Generation. Im Mittelpunkt der Forschung am Fraunhofer IKTS stehen Methoden, Komponenten, Verbrauchsmaterialien und Komplettsysteme für die Onkologie, Biomedizin sowie klinische Anwendungen. Optische Methoden stellen einen besonderen Schwerpunkt dar, da Licht schnell, hochsensitiv und berührungslos messen kann. Es ist damit ein ideales Werkzeug, um biologische Prozesse und Defekte direkt auf Zellebene zu messen. Bereits heute können somit zahlreiche medizinische und diagnostische Fragestellungen in der Medizintechnik und im Life-Science-Bereich einfach und kostengünstig beantwortet werden. Gemeinsam mit dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Zelltherapie und Immunologie IZI wurde dafür das Bio-Nanotechnologie Anwendungslabor (BNAL) gegründet. An der Schnittstelle von Zellbiologie, Medizin, Biotechnologie, Nanotechnologie und Medizintechnik werden Themen von der biologisch-medizinischen Grundlagenforschung über die Verfahrensentwicklung bis hin zur Validierung neuester Technologien und Systemlösungen bearbeitet.