Business Divisions

»From materials to systems – Your one stop shop for ceramics«

The institute operates in eight market-oriented business divisions to demonstrate and qualify ceramic technologies and components as well as non-destructive test methods for new industries, product concepts and markets beyond the established fields of application:

 

Materials and Processes

Fraunhofer IKTS‘ “Materials and Processes“ business division offers oxide, non-oxide and silicate materials as well as composite materials, glasses, hardmetals and cermets. Depending on commercially available raw materials and pre-ceramic preliminary stages, these materials are qualified for use in actual applications.

 

Mechanical and Automotive Engineering

The “Mechanical and Automotive Engineering“ business division at Fraunhofer IKTS traditionally offers wear parts and tools as well as components for extreme conditions made from high-performance ceramics, hardmetals, and cermets to be used in machine building, plant engineering and automotive industries.

 

Energy

In the “Energy” business division, Fraunhofer IKTS offers innovative components, modules, and complete energy systems that are engineered, built and tested on a ceramic materials and technologies platform.

 

Environmental and Process Engineering

For the “Environmental and Process Engineering“ business division, Fraunhofer IKTS provides materials, technologies and systems that create the transformation of materials and energy safely, efficiently, and in a manner safe for both the environment and climate.

 

Electronics and Microsystems

“Electronics and Microsystems” is a business division in which Fraunhofer IKTS offers materials, technol­ogies, components, and systems for microelectronics and nanoelectronics, energy engineering, sensors and actuator technology as well as for industrial test systems.

 

Bio- and Medical Technology

Through its “Bio- and Medical Technology” business division, Fraunhofer IKTS offers ceramic materials, components, and systems for dental technology and endoprosthetics, as well as biomedical diagnostics and therapeutics.

 

Optics

In the “Optics“ business division, Fraunhofer IKTS designs and supplies ceramic materials, components, and systems for lighting, medical and laser technology, optical measurement and diagnostic systems as well as ballistic applications.

 

Materials and Process Analysis

Through its “Materials and Process Analysis“ business division, Fraunhofer IKTS provides users and manufacturers of materials and components with a comprehensive portfolio of methods for testing, characterization, and analytical methods for material properties and production processes.

Geschäftsfelder

»Vom Material zum System – Ihr One Stop Shop für Keramik«

Das Fraunhofer IKTS arbeitet in acht marktorientierten Geschäftsfeldern, um keramische Technologien und Komponenten für neue Branchen, neue Produktideen und neue Märkte jenseits der klassischen Einsatzgebiete zu demonstrieren und zu qualifizieren. Dazu gehören:

 

Werkstoffe und Verfahren

Das Geschäftsfeld »Werkstoffe und Verfahren« des Fraunhofer IKTS bietet oxidische, nichtoxidische und silikatkeramische Werkstoffe sowie Verbundwerkstoffe, Gläser, Hartmetalle und Cermets.

 

Maschinenbau und Fahrzeugtechnik

Das Geschäftsfeld »Maschinenbau und Fahrzeugtechnik« des Fraunhofer IKTS bietet traditionell Verschleißteile und Werkzeuge sowie spezifisch beanspruchte Bauteile aus Hochleistungskeramiken, Hartmetallen und Cermets für den Maschinen-, Anlagen- und Fahrzeugbau.

 

Energie

Im Geschäftsfeld »Energie« bietet das Fraunhofer IKTS innovative Komponenten, Module und komplette Systeme der Energietechnik, die auf Basis von keramischen Werkstoffen und Technologien entwickelt, gebaut und getestet werden.

 

Umwelt- und Verfahrenstechnik

Im Geschäftsfeld »Umwelt- und Verfahrenstechnik« bietet das Fraunhofer IKTS Werkstoffe, Technologien und Systeme, die die Umwandlung von Stoffen und Energie sicher, effizient, umwelt- und klimaschonend gestalten.

 

Elektronik und Mikrosysteme

Im Geschäftsfeld »Elektronik und Mikrosysteme« bietet das Fraunhofer IKTS Materialien, Technologien, Komponenten und Systeme für die Mikro- und Nanoelektronik, Energietechnik, Sensorik und Aktorik sowie für industrielle Prüfsysteme.

 

Bio- und Medizintechnik

Im Geschäftsfeld »Bio- und Medizintechnik« bietet das Fraunhofer IKTS keramische Werkstoffe, Komponenten und Systeme für die Dentaltechnik, Endoprothetik sowie die biomedizinische Diagnostik und Therapeutik.

 

Optik

Im Geschäftsfeld »Optik« bietet das Fraunhofer IKTS keramische Materialien, Komponenten und Systeme für Beleuchtung, Medizin- und Lasertechnik, optische Mess- und Diagnosesysteme sowie Schutzanwendungen.

 

Material- und Prozessanalyse

Im Geschäftsfeld »Material- und Prozessanalyse« bietet das Fraunhofer IKTS Anwendern und Herstellern von Rohstoffen, Werkstoffen und Bauteilen ein umfassendes Portfolio an Test-, Charakterisierungs- und Analysemethoden für Materialeigenschaften und Produktionsprozesse.