About us

The Fraunhofer IKTS in Profile

The Fraunhofer Institute for Ceramic Technologies and Systems IKTS covers the field of advanced ceramics from basic preliminary research through to the entire range of applications. Superbly equipped laboratories and technical facilities covering 30,000 m2 of useable space have been set up for this purpose at the sites in Dresden and Hermsdorf. Based on comprehensive materials expertise in advanced ceramic materials, the institute’s development work covers the entire value creation chain, all the way to prototype production. Fraunhofer IKTS forms a triad of materials, technology and systems expertise, which is enhanced by the highest level of extensive materials diagnostics for materials beyond ceramics. Chemists, physicists, materials scientists and engineers work together on an interdisciplinary basis at IKTS. All tasks are supported by highly skilled technicians.


The focus is placed on manufacturers and especially existing and potential users of ceramics as project partners and customers. Fraunhofer IKTS operates in nine market-oriented divisions in order to demonstrate and qualify ceramic technologies and components as well as non-destructive test methods for new industries, product ideas and markets outside the traditional areas of use.


The focus is on the challenges facing society as a whole in the area of new forms of mobility, sustainable concepts for energy and water technologies as well as efficient digital production for which Fraunhofer IKTS integrates tried-and-tested and new  materials, technology and systems concepts. They are used in the business divisions Mechanical and Automotive Engineering, Electronics and Microsystems, Energy, Water, Environmental and Process Engineering, Bio- and Medical Technology as well as Non-Destructive Testing and Monitoring. In the cross-sectional divisions of Materials and Processes as well as Material and  Process Analysis, established and new technologies are continuously being further developed as “enabling technologies“ for all other fields.


Among our unique areas of expertise, we offer:

 

End-to-end production lines: from starting materials to prototypes

 

For any class of ceramic materials, Fraunhofer IKTS has access to all the standard processes of raw materials preparation, forming, heat treatment and finish processing. Where it makes sense, the institute can even conduct phase synthesis. In functional ceramics, IKTS holds a particular core competency in paste and tape technology. Multiple clean rooms and low- contamination production areas are kept at the ready, among other things, for multilayer ceramics and highly purified oxide ceramics lines of technology.


Multi-scale development

 

Fraunhofer IKTS can convert developments from the lab into the technical standard. There is industrially suited equipment and machinery of the latest designs available for all relevant lines of technology, in order for partners and customers to realize the prototypes and pilot-production series needed for market launch, to develop production processes, and to implement quality processes. Thus, residual cost risks and time to market can be minimized.


Competent analysis and quality assessment

 

High-performance analysis and quality control are a decisive factor for market acceptance of products, especially in ceramic production processes. The fundamental understanding of materials and ceramic manufacturing processes in conjunction with the design and integration of complex testing systems enables unique solutions to be found for key material issues in product development, manufacturing and quality assurance.

 

Synergies between materials, technologies and applications

 

The targeted combination of different technology platforms, of functional and structural ceramics for example, allows for multi-functional components and systems that intelligently exploit various ceramic properties. Innovative products with significant added value and lower costs can be directly tested, validated and optimized in several application centers.

 

Network creator

 

In ongoing projects Fraunhofer IKTS is currently associated with over 450 national and international partners. In addition, IKTS is active in numerous regional, national and international alliances and networks. Thus, the institute is well networked with the Fraunhofer Group for Materials and Components – MATERIALS – as well as with another 11 alliances within the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. By building up and actively working within various networks, Fraunhofer IKTS is able to identify and impart complementary competences at an early stage and integrate them for successful product development. In this way, solutions can be found in the interests of our partners far beyond the traditional materials development.


Cross-locational management for sustainable quality assurance


Quality, traceability, transparency and sustainability: to Fraunhofer IKTS, these are the most important tools to provide partners and customers with valid, reproducible and resource-saving research results. The IKTS therefore administers a standardized management system per DIN EN ISO 9001 as well as an environmental management system in accordance with  DIN EN ISO 14001. Furthermore, each site of the institute is certified according to additional guidelines, including the German Medical Devices Act, and is regularly subjected to a variety of industrial audits.

Über uns

Das Fraunhofer IKTS im Profil

Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Keramische Technologien und Systeme IKTS deckt das Feld der Technischen Keramik von der grundlagenorientierten Vorlaufforschung bis zur Anwendung in seiner ganzen Breite ab. Hierzu stehen an den Standorten Dresden-Gruna, Dresden-Klotzsche und Hermsdorf, Thüringen sowie in mehreren Außenstellen hervorragend ausgerüstete Labors und Technika auf mehr als 30 000 m2 Nutzfläche zur Verfügung. Ausgehend von einem umfassenden Werkstoffwissen über keramische Hochleistungswerkstoffe erstrecken sich die Entwicklungsarbeiten über die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette bis hin zur Prototypenfertigung. Das Fraunhofer IKTS bildet einen Dreiklang aus Werkstoff-, Technologie- und Systemkompetenz, der durch eine umfangreiche Materialdiagnose auf höchstem Niveau ergänzt wird. Chemiker, Physiker, Werkstoffwissenschaftler und Ingenieure arbeiten im IKTS interdisziplinär zusammen. Alle Arbeiten werden durch erfahrene Techniker begleitet.

Die Hersteller und vor allem die bestehenden und potenziellen Anwender von Keramik stehen als Projektpartner und Kunden im Fokus. Das Fraunhofer IKTS arbeitet in acht marktorientierten Geschäftsfeldern, um keramische Technologien und Komponenten für neue Branchen, neue Produktideen und neue Märkte jenseits der klassischen Einsatzgebiete zu demonstrieren und zu qualifizieren. Dazu gehören Maschinenbau und Fahrzeugtechnik, Elektronik und Mikrosysteme, Energie, Umweltund Verfahrenstechnik, Bio- und Medizintechnik, Optik und als übergreifende Querschnittsangebote die klassischen Werkstoffe und Verfahren sowie die Material- und Prozessanalyse. Das Institut bietet sich damit als kompetenter Ansprechpartner und erster Anlaufpunkt für alle keramikbezogenen Problemstellungen an – ein echter »One Stop Shop« für die Keramik.

Als unikale Kompetenzen können wir hierbei bieten:
 

Durchgehende Fertigungslinien vom Werkstoff zum Prototypen

In allen keramischen Stoffklassen stehen uns sämtliche Standardverfahren der Masseaufbereitung, Formgebung, Wärmebehandlung und Finishbearbeitung zur Verfügung. Wo es sinnvoll ist, kann selbst die Phasensynthese am Institut erfolgen. In der Funktionskeramik besteht eine besondere Kernkompetenz in der Pasten- und Folientechnologie. Mehrere Reinräume und kontaminationsarme Fertigungsbereiche werden bereitgehalten, unter anderem für die Technologielinien der Vielschichtkeramik und der hochreinen Oxidkeramik.
 

Multiskalenentwicklung

Das Fraunhofer IKTS kann Entwicklungen vom Labor- in den Technikumsmaßstab übertragen. Für alle relevanten Technologielinien stehen industrietaugliche Ausrüstungen und Maschinen aktueller Bauart zur Verfügung, um für Partner und Kunden die für den Markteinstieg notwendigen Prototypen und Vorserien zu realisieren, industrielle Fertigungslinien zu entwickeln und Qualitätsprozesse zu implementieren. Somit können Remanenzkostenrisiken und Time-to-Market minimiert werden.
 

Synergien zwischen den Werkstoffen und Technologien

Die Kombination der unterschiedlichen Technologieplattformen, wie zum Beispiel der Funktions- und Strukturkeramik, erlaubt multifunktionale Bauteile und Systeme, die geschickt Eigenschaften der Keramik ausnutzen. Dies ermöglicht die Herstellung innovativer Produkte mit deutlichem Mehrwert und niedrigen Kosten.

Kompetente Analytik und Qualitätsbewertung

Gerade in keramischen Produktionsprozessen ist eine leistungsfähige Analytik und Qualitätskontrolle von Beginn an ein entscheidender Faktor für die Marktakzeptanz der Produkte. Da wir sowohl Werkstoffe als auch keramische Herstellprozesse auf einer fundamentalen Ebene verstehen, gleichzeitig auch den Entwurf und die Integration komplexer physikalischer Prüfsysteme beherrschen, können wir unseren Kunden einzigartige Lösungen bei Werkstofffragen in Produktion und Qualitätsüberwachung bieten.
 

Netzwerkbildner

In unseren laufenden Projekten sind wir aktuell mit über 450 nationalen und internationalen Partnern verbunden. Zudem ist das Fraunhofer IKTS in zahlreichen Allianzen und Netzwerken aktiv. Innerhalb der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sind wir beispielsweise im Fraunhofer-Verbund Werkstoffe und Bauteile – MATERIALS tätig. Darüber hinaus stellt das Fraunhofer IKTS den Sprecher der Fraunhofer-Allianz AdvanCer, die aus vier besonders auf die Keramik spezialisierten Instituten besteht. Wir sind in der Lage, den Aufbau von Netzwerken, die für eine erfolgreiche Produktentwicklung notwendig sind, zu unterstützen und auch über unsere eigenen Möglichkeiten hinausgehende Kompetenzen zu vermitteln oder zu integrieren. Unsere Arbeiten an der Forschungsfront basieren auf einem langjährigen Erfahrungs- und Wissensschatz, der auf die Interessen unserer Partner ausgerichtet ist.
 

Standortübergreifendes Management zur nachhaltigen Qualitätssicherung

Qualität, Nachvollziehbarkeit, Transparenz und Nachhaltigkeit gehören für uns zu den wichtigsten Instrumenten zur Differenzierung im Wettbewerb. Das IKTS verfügt daher über ein einheitliches Managementsystem nach DIN EN ISO 9001 sowie über ein Umweltmanagementsystem nach DIN EN ISO 14001. Darüber hinaus wird das Institut in seinen Teilbereichen nach weiteren Richtlinien zertifiziert, unter anderem nach dem Medizinproduktegesetz und wird regelmäßig verschiedenen industriellen Audits unterzogen.